International Women’s Day

 

Today I celebrate International Women’s Day.  I honour all the women who are part of my life and I pay tribute to all the women who have influenced me in the past.  Some of these women include:

First and foremost, My Mom

My sisters Betty and Faye

My daughters Kristi and Nellie

My granddaughters Kalia, Olivia, J & H

My daughters-in-law Amanda, Jeannette, and Nici

My Grandmother “Mom”

My nieces Brodie, Jennifer, Kari, Kathryn, Terri, Melissa, Meg, Kate, Emily, Dana

All my darling cousins like Maureen, Carolyn, Verna, Dale, Jacklyn and all the rest – and their daughters and granddaughters

My sisters-in-law Janet, Cheryl, Amanda, Penny, Wanda, Debbie, Lynda, Wendy, Mimi, Holly

All my Aunts

My long-time friend Kristi

Cherished friends Sharon, Aleta, Andrea

My mother-in-law Florence

Lil

Good neighbours

High school friends who have reconnected

Wise women like Elsie Cressman, Ina May Gaskin, Margaret Mead, and Marian Thompson.

My friends in La Leche League and all the mothers I’ve been honoured to help over the years.

The women I assisted with the births of their babies while I was a Midwife – and all those baby girls, many of them now adults themselves

The women around the world who I will never even meet who have impacted my thoughts and actions over the years.

I apologize if I haven’t mentioned any lady in particular who has been part of my life.  You are still important to me.

Mum

 

 

 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. grammomsblog
    Mar 08, 2021 @ 09:11:14

    And now I can add Nikky, Elsie, and Clare

    Reply

  2. Christine Inrig
    Mar 08, 2021 @ 12:44:52

    It’s a blessing to just take time thinking about the amazing women we’ve encountered along the way. I also have a very long list. They are inspirational, creative, loving, and giving. How lovely is that?

    Reply

  3. Maureen Renouf Sinclair
    Mar 11, 2021 @ 12:49:49

    Your Mum was a very caring person , she helped me a lot when I was there , I still have a cookbook she gave me , which helped me to cook . & baked , she sure impacted my young married life , , She was so helpful in so many ways , , I sure loved her & will never be forgotten . , A great lady indeed , xxoo

    Reply

Leave a comment

hip roof barn

Crafting a frugal life

Powell River Books Blog

Life, Family, Friends.....

Ottawa Peace & Environment Blog

The Ottawa Peace and Environment Resource Centre (PERC) is an incorporated, registered charity. It is primarily a volunteer-run, grassroots organization with a Board of Directors to govern its operations.

Off Grid and Free: My Path to the Wilderness

Practical advice for off-gridders, homesteaders, preppers. 44 years off-grid homesteading experience.

The Radical Homemaker

Warning: Blending authenticity with joy may arouse contempt.

B&H Your Community Grocer

Supporting Your Community Since 1963

Just another Day on the Farm

Living a step back in time

Vulnerable Watersheds

Life, Family, Friends.....

The Kitchen's Garden

Sustainable. Self Sufficient. Loving the Land. Join Us!