Land of the Midnight Sun

I left beautiful Vancouver Island behind and travelled to the far north to the city of Whitehorse in Canada’s Yukon Territory.  Vancouver was a balmy 12C degrees and raining while my destination boasted -8C degrees and snow.  I had my winter boots on and my winter jacket was in my backpack.

I flew Air North over the west coast mountain ranges at 32,000 feet in the air and I clearly saw snow covered mountains and greeny-blue glacial lakes.  What a site to behold!  And just when I thought it couldn’t get any better, I saw the spectacular site of even taller mountains in the distance, thrust above all the other peaks in majestic form.  I discovered later that the tallest is probably Mount Logan, the highest mountain in Canada.

British Columbia mountain ranges from above

British Columbia mountain ranges from above

Our flight attendants on Air North, Yukon’s airline were a welcoming and jovial bunch and made the 2.5 hour trip a fun, do-it-again adventure.  The service was the best I’ve experienced and they kept bringing around beverages, lunch, and dessert, all included in the flight at no extra charge.  And as we began our decent from the brilliant sun through the thick cloud into Whitehorse, flight attendant David brought around candy!

Being early November, the days get ‘shorter’ and darkness blankets this country for more than half of the 24 hour day.  But that’s a good thing for someone like me anticipating seeing the Aurora Borealis – Northern Lights.  I’ve only witnessed this marvel of nature 3 times briefly in my life.  Verses of Robert Service and Jack London danced through my head…… and I thought fondly of my dear departed parents-in-law who lived in the Yukon 65 years ago.

The historic Yukon River @ Whitehorse

The historic Yukon River @ Whitehorse

I stayed with my son and daughter-in-law in their new home in northern British Columbia, lovingly known as an adopted part of the Yukon.  Next blog post I’ll share my experience as an ‘Outsider’ in this last frontier.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Bet
    Nov 09, 2015 @ 22:34:33

    OMG!! Those snow caps are unbelievable!! … I am in awe of these majestic mountains and am happy to be able to see sights like these EVERY day!!… I could only imagine the gigantic-ness of them… until I saw them in person… They truly are a sight to behold…

    Northern Lights… a lynx just meters away from you… M and J’s company… what more could you ask for on a northern holiday??!!

    So glad you had an incredible trip to the north…

    Love Bet… 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Off Grid and Free: My Path to the Wilderness

Practical advice for off-gridders, homesteaders, preppers. 37 years off-grid homesteading experience. Blog, videos, podcasts, book (print, ebook, audio)

Powell River Books Blog

Life, Family, Friends.....

The Radical Homemaker

Warning: Blending authenticity with joy may arouse contempt.

Mother Matters Burlington

Pregnancy, birth and postpartum support. Conscious parenting too!

B&H Your Community Grocer

Supporting Your Community Since 1963

Just another Day on the Farm

Living a step back in time

Natural Life Magazine's

green living blog by Editor Wendy Priesnitz

Vulnerable Watersheds

Life, Family, Friends.....

Pete's Alaska

Pete's Alaska — God, family, country my view out the cabin window.

Supporting Breastfeeding

La Leche League Canada

Tiny House Ontario

To fill this life, with words, art, and maintain a lovely living forest.

Cam Mather

Books • Speaking • Consulting • etc.

Wuppenif

wuppenif...in other words, "what would happen if?"

Lactation Matters

The official blog of the International Lactation Consultant Association

thekitchensgarden

farming, gardens, cows, goats, chickens, food, organic, sustainable, photography,

