Frogs

It’s springtime!  Nighttime at my place is filled with the sounds of frogs singing in concert.

Spring peepers are the most dominant frog tonight.  Multitudes of them are ‘peeping’ alone yet in unison with the others in all directions.  I can hear them from every window in every direction.  Here’s what they sound like.  Our riverside flood plain provides the right habitat for thriving populations of spring peepers, chorus frogs, wood frogs, leopard frogs, tree frogs….. well I could go on and on.

spring_peeper_102912_7

Spring peeper

Before dark, I can hear the occasional sound of a Robin or two, trying to get a word in edgewise.  And every once in a while, I can hear a solitary Gray Tree Frog.  The other evening, it was poised right on my back window just chillin’!

Bullfrogs begin croaking in their low moan as soon as darkness settles in.  Many large bullfrogs live in my pond for the summer after they hop up from the river.  Thousand more live in the river.  I greeted some today…..

Bullfrog

Bullfrog

The most prolific frog around here is the Leopard frog.  They are everywhere from the pond, river, grass, and ditches.  Muskey Joe, an American fisherman who frequents our river, used to catch them to use as bait, in our neighbourhood ditches until my young children shooed them away back in the day.  I remember when we moved here 34 years ago, hundreds and hundreds of leopard frogs were jumping for their lives, out of the way of our kind neighbour who was cutting our 2 foot high grass with his push mower.  My 3 little boys were running ahead of him trying to catch the frogs mid-air with their hands, to save them.

Of course, these are only a few species of frogs that inhabit this area of the planet.  I appreciate the multitude of frogs I share my life with who sing to me in melody.

Gray Treefrog

Gray Treefrog

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Fred Schueler
    May 10, 2015 @ 12:08:01

    are you sure you have Chorus Frogs, and not trilling Peepers? I don’t have a record of Chorus Frogs for your area since 16 March 1981, at Fairmile

    Reply

  2. Diane Downey
    May 11, 2015 @ 15:07:55

    I bet it sounds absolutely amazing, Linda. I have a friend who lives in Peterborough who speaks of the same thing. I can just close my eyes and imagine the tranquility of it. Enjoy every moment! xo

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Off Grid and Free: My Path to the Wilderness

Practical advice for off-gridders, homesteaders, preppers. 37 years off-grid homesteading experience. Blog, videos, podcasts, book (print, ebook, audio)

Powell River Books Blog

Life, Family, Friends.....

The Radical Homemaker

Warning: Blending authenticity with joy may arouse contempt.

Mother Matters Burlington

Pregnancy, birth and postpartum support. Conscious parenting too!

B&H Your Community Grocer

Supporting Your Community Since 1963

Just another Day on the Farm

Living a step back in time

Natural Life Magazine's

green living blog by Editor Wendy Priesnitz

Vulnerable Watersheds

Life, Family, Friends.....

Pete's Alaska

Pete's Alaska — God, family, country my view out the cabin window.

Supporting Breastfeeding

La Leche League Canada

Tiny House Ontario

To fill this life, with words, art, and maintain a lovely living forest.

Cam Mather

Books • Speaking • Consulting • etc.

Wuppenif

wuppenif...in other words, "what would happen if?"

Lactation Matters

The official blog of the International Lactation Consultant Association

thekitchensgarden

farming, gardens, cows, goats, chickens, food, organic, sustainable, photography,

