Giving Thanks

 

I’m thankful for many things in my life:

Family. I feel so grateful to have a family. There are actually some people in this world who are alone without another soul in their family. I can’t imagine how lonely that must be. My family is huge! Seven grown children, 5 children-in-law/girlfriend, 5 grandchildren, two amazing Sisters and their families, nieces and nephews, Aunts, and cousins galore!

2005 plus new additions to the family

2005 plus new additions to the family

 

Home. I’m grateful to have a roof over my head that I’ve called home since 1981. The walls could tell all those stories over the course of those years! The births, weddings, funeral…..

Food. I love food. I’m grateful that I live in a country like Canada that has so much fresh food. There are local farmers who work extremely hard to grow food for my table and I appreciate their efforts immensely . I am thankful that there is a local store that’s been in business for over 50 years, the B & H Community Grocer, which strives to bring locally produced items in to their store for customers like me. Even those people living in a challenging place right now in their lives have access to food through local food banks and ‘soup kitchens’ across our country.

Canada. I’m a proud Canadian. I have the privilege of living in a country where I’m free to be a person, a woman, a citizen.

My grown children and granddaughters who will be filling my woodshed today. I’ve moved aside the dry firewood left over from last winter in my woodshed so I can burn it first. My sons Darin, Taylor, and Melvin as well as my two granddaughters almost 11 year old Kalia and 9 year old Livi are coming today to fill my woodshed and stack the other 8 cords beside the garage, for the next few years.

download

 

I’m thankful that my winter chores list is getting shorter. The hardest thing was catching that last goldfish in the pond to put in their winter home in my coldroom. I must have walked ten miles around that pond trying to catch the little escape artist! I have to dig my canna lily bulbs tomorrow but a few other things will have to wait, like getting my winter snow tires on.

Today, after the wood is stacked, we will celebrate this season of giving thanks with a roast turkey dinner and all the trimmings like mashed potatoes, homemade gravy, carrots, turnip, dressing like my Mom used to make, Nellie’s cabbage salad, and my pasta/tuna salad (without onions for my granddaughters). And Sarah’s pumpkin pie for dessert.

 

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rod
    Oct 13, 2014 @ 11:16:05

    You have an amazing story. Thanks for sharing. I’ll be visiting soon enough. šŸ™‚

    Reply

  2. grammomsblog
    Oct 13, 2014 @ 19:17:26

    All the wood got stacked with even more help from Nellie and Sarah, Melvin’s girlfriend. And Amanda surprised us with a home made Apple Crisp!

    Reply

  3. Maureen Renouf Sinclair
    Oct 13, 2014 @ 20:32:18

    Your stories are always amazing to read , Thankful that I have you & your sisters in our life, Always was & always will be , We have a lot to be thankful for , Have a great day ,
    Your cuz,, Maureen xo

    Reply

  4. Diane Downey
    Oct 13, 2014 @ 21:32:53

    Happy Thanksgiving, Linda. This year I add a few items to my list of things to be thankful for. The Craig family, grammomsblog, new stories and old photos – cousins not forgotten. Thank you for sharing with me. ā¤

    Reply

    • grammomsblog
      Oct 13, 2014 @ 21:35:25

      Diane, I’m very grateful that we have re-connected again after all these years. I look forward to seeing you next time I come to town. Happy Thanksgiving.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Where Meeples Meet

Games you'll want to play

Wilderness Return

My Wilderness Return Return to Nature, bushcraft, scrounge craft, writing

Off Grid and Free: My Path to the Wilderness

Practical advice for off-gridders, homesteaders, preppers. 37 years off-grid homesteading experience. Blog, videos, podcasts, book (print, ebook, audio)

Powell River Books Blog

Life, Family, Friends.....

The Radical Homemaker

Warning: Blending authenticity with joy may arouse contempt.

Mother Matters Burlington

Pregnancy, birth and postpartum support. Conscious parenting too!

B&H Your Community Grocer

Supporting Your Community Since 1963

Just another Day on the Farm

Living a step back in time

Natural Life Magazine's

green living blog by Editor Wendy Priesnitz

Vulnerable Watersheds

Life, Family, Friends.....

Pete's Alaska

Pete's Alaska ā€” God, family, country my view out the cabin window.

Tiny House Ontario

To fill this life, with words, art, and maintain a lovely living forest.

Cam Mather

Books ā€¢ Speaking ā€¢ Consulting ā€¢ etc.

Wuppenif

wuppenif...in other words, "what would happen if?"

Lactation Matters

The official blog of the International Lactation Consultant Association

