Clothes Dryer Maintenance

Okay, this might be a boring post for some of you but believe me it IS important. I’m talking about clothes dryer lint. Yep, lint. Boring, yes. But like I said, important. I remember in the late 1970’s when we lived in a townhouse on the edge of the city, one neighbour’s house caught fire because she didn’t clean out the lint in her dryer and it caught fire.
I love hanging my clothes outside when the weather permits and not when it’s -30 degrees celsius like it’s been lately. You can read a post I wrote about it here. I don’t dry ALL my clothes indoors on a rack beside the wood cookstove any more or on indoor clotheslines downstairs as I did when the children were small (they loved to play hide-and-seek among the lines of drying clothes by the downstairs wood stove. I’m not going to discuss the many uses of dryer lint. I’m actually going to write about getting rid of dryer lint…………. really removing it………….. all of it. Everyone is our house cleans out the dryer lint screen every time they use the dryer. Today I went a step above and beyond:

Inside the lint screen chamber

Inside the lint screen chamber

I hadn’t planned on such a lenthly job of dryer maintenance today. But when I went to add my clothes to the dryer, I noticed that the lint screen didn’t quite go down all the way. I took it out and looked into the deep dark crevice where the air goes and lint is not supposed to go. Yikes! It was full of lint too! So I looked at the lint screen holder and discovered that it was screwed into the frame of the dryer. I removed the screws and popped out the lint screen holder to take a better look. I reached inside with my hands and removed all the lint that I could – handfulls and handfulls of it!! I got a flashlight and noticed that there was a lot more lint down further, out of reach. I found a long chop stick and taped it to my index finger to extend my reach.

100_3784

I managed to scrape and pull more hand fulls of lint from the bottom until I removed it all – it filled half a bag!! A fire hazard! Whew, now I know why the clothes seemed to take a bit longer to dry these days!

Bag of lint!

Bag of lint!

I know I’m not done yet. Another day, I’ll have to clean out the inside of the dryer vent pipe that leads to the outside.

There’s no excuse now:  no, you don’t need a new dryer, just go clean out the lint!

 

 

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. fred schueler
    Jan 25, 2014 @ 16:34:05

    I can’t help feeling that clothes are better if they’ve frozen and sublimated dry

    Reply

    • grammomsblog
      Jan 25, 2014 @ 16:39:01

      No doubt Fred. We grew up with line-dried clothes year round. I remember how the frozen clothes stood at attention on their own after being brought in, until they thawed out.

      Reply

  2. Bet
    Jan 26, 2014 @ 03:05:03

    This is a GREAT post!!… Rob’s dryer has not been drying like it should and I believe we might just know the problem now!!… We thought it might be the element but stuff was still warm… but taking extra long to dry!!…Looks like that might be our Sunday afternoon job!!.. What fun!!… NOT!!!!

    (Along with cleaning out the back shed of all my junk….I have to sort it for the garage sale that I’m having at the end of February!!) It’s supposed to be around 7 tomorrow so nice enough to work outside… Sorry sister… to taunt you like this about our warm weather… I see that is still extremely cold there!!…

    Love you…

    Bet… xo

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Where Meeples Meet

Games you'll want to play

Wilderness Return

My Wilderness Return Return to Nature, bushcraft, scrounge craft, writing

Off Grid and Free: My Path to the Wilderness

Practical advice for off-gridders, homesteaders, preppers. 37 years off-grid homesteading experience. Blog, videos, podcasts, book (print, ebook, audio)

Powell River Books Blog

Life, Family, Friends.....

The Radical Homemaker

Warning: Blending authenticity with joy may arouse contempt.

Mother Matters Burlington

Pregnancy, birth and postpartum support. Conscious parenting too!

B&H Your Community Grocer

Supporting Your Community Since 1963

Just another Day on the Farm

Living a step back in time

Natural Life Magazine's

green living blog by Editor Wendy Priesnitz

Vulnerable Watersheds

Life, Family, Friends.....

Pete's Alaska

Pete's Alaska — God, family, country my view out the cabin window.

Tiny House Ontario

To fill this life, with words, art, and maintain a lovely living forest.

Cam Mather

Books • Speaking • Consulting • etc.

Wuppenif

wuppenif...in other words, "what would happen if?"

Lactation Matters

The official blog of the International Lactation Consultant Association

