First Born

 

Today I celebrate the birth day of my firstborn child – Happy 38th Birthday Rob!

Robin @ Twin One Glacier, British Columbia

Robin @ Twin One Glacier, British Columbia

His birth propelled me into Motherhood and my life changed forever. I was in University at the time and had planned on putting him in the day care conveniently on site where we lived in married student residence. Little did I realize before he was born, that my life would change profoundly with my deep love for him …… and all those plans were thrown out the window. Many years ago, I wrote the ‘story of the day you were born’ in his baby book and I want to reprint it here as a celebration of the everlasting bond we will always share:

The Day You Were Born – August, 15, 1975 @ 9:07 p.m.
Well it was already the middle of August – you had been expected in the middle of July so I was beginning to believe that I would carry you around inside me forever! Your Daddy and I were involved in ‘Project Mobility’ – a compilation of buildings’ accessibility for the disabled in Kitchener-Waterloo. It was a summer job since we were still in University. On the day you were born, your Daddy went to work and I sat around our apartment waiting and eating watermelon in the 32+C degrees (90+F) heat.

After work, we went to the bank – I can still remember standing in line at the bank feeling very heavy and a bit nauseated. We went out to eat hamburgers except I didn’t feel like eating. Then we went to Canadian Tire to buy some car seat covers and a bicycle carrier for our car. Your Daddy installed the bike carrier as I put on the car seat covers. While doing this, I found a little lost boy about 1 1/2 – 2 years old wandering onto the street so I tried to find his parents. I can still remember carrying him, getting very tired. When I did find his father, I couldn’t help but lecture him on watching his son more carefully.

It was about 6 p.m. now so Daddy and I went up to our apartment to wash up. I realized then that I had been in labour and you would be born that night! I had my bath to relax me and help my contractions, which were very mild. I wasn’t sure if we should go to the hospital so early, but your Daddy thought we should. During the ride to the hospital, I kept hoping that my water wouldn’t break and get our new car seat covers all wet! But all went well.

After the doctor examined me, he said that you would be born very soon! Then he looked a little concerned and asked if we were having twins! I said “no I wasn’t” since I had an x-ray a few days before to see if you were full term. My tummy was very big so he was wondering….. Daddy was there all along wearing a mask and gown just like a doctor. Then you were born! The nurses exclaimed at how big you were and rushed immediately over to weigh you – 10 lbs. 14 1/2 oz.! They could hardly believe it – us too. Two student nurses who witnessed your birth were dumbfounded at everything. Your Daddy was the first to hold you, then me. Everything seemed like a dream come true. We were so proud of you.

12 hours old

12 hours old

The night you were born, I can still remember when I called my Mom to tell her of your birth. She had just got home an hour before from holidays down home with my sisters Faye and Betty. Faye answered the phone and said “well I guess you’re still waiting” and I said “well no, not exactly”. She said “What! A boy or a girl?” and I answered “a boy, 10 lbs. 14 1/2 oz.”. She screamed “Ma it’s a boy, 10 lbs. something!!” And I heard my Mother yell “WHAT!!”. Then we talked for a while about everything.
The next day Betty, Faye, and my Mom came up and made such a fuss! I felt SO good – my heart just throbbed over you with such intense love and pride. A few people thought we must have been your brother and sister and not your parents – you were SO big and us just 5’2″ and about 115 lbs! We just smiled and laughed.

So that’s what happened the day you were born.”

Salmonberry picking on Vancouver Island

Salmonberry picking on Vancouver Island

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Robin Mellway (@rmellway)
    Aug 15, 2013 @ 18:33:49

    Thanks Mom, that’s wonderful!! Love you!

    Reply

  2. Maureen sinclair
    Aug 15, 2013 @ 18:48:06

    Happy Birthday to Rob, A wonderful story,,:)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Off Grid and Free: My Path to the Wilderness

Practical advice for off-gridders, homesteaders, preppers. 37 years off-grid homesteading experience. Blog, videos, podcasts, book (print, ebook, audio)

Powell River Books Blog

Life, Family, Friends.....

The Radical Homemaker

Warning: Blending authenticity with joy may arouse contempt.

Mother Matters Burlington

Pregnancy, birth and postpartum support. Conscious parenting too!

B&H Your Community Grocer

Supporting Your Community Since 1963

Just another Day on the Farm

Living a step back in time

Natural Life Magazine's

green living blog by Editor Wendy Priesnitz

Vulnerable Watersheds

Life, Family, Friends.....

Pete's Alaska

Pete's Alaska — God, family, country my view out the cabin window.

Supporting Breastfeeding

La Leche League Canada

Tiny House Ontario

To fill this life, with words, art, and maintain a lovely living forest.

Life, Family, Friends.....

Cam Mather

Books • Speaking • Consulting • etc.

Wuppenif

wuppenif...in other words, "what would happen if?"

Lactation Matters

The official blog of the International Lactation Consultant Association

thekitchensgarden

farming, gardens, cows, goats, chickens, food, organic, sustainable, photography,

