Farmers Market

This weekend, I went to my local Farmers Market. What a fabulous place to buy fresh products ! There were a lot of people there because of a Celebrity Cook-off:   cars were lined up on both sides of the road because the grassy parking area was all filled up. I was actually just there to buy my local lean ground beef from Flood Road Farms. But I was in for a treat.NGFM
Walking around the Farmers Market is a rhapsody for the senses! The sights and sounds swirling about are so sweet. On this day, I was greeted with a very talented singer playing tunes on an acoustic guitar and singing (very well I might add) familiar country tunes – but alas, I don’t know his name.2013-08-10 12.01.40

Inside the big barn, I made my first stop at Flood Road Farms for my local, naturally raised beef. I chatted with Sue for a while then moved on to look for some friends I often see there. I passed tables of fresh eggs, crocheted items and hand-made wooden toys in the former animal stall areas which had long been converted to accommodate the Farmers Market.2013-08-10 11.45.38
I followed my nose past the canteen – which was extremely difficult to bypass. Then I made my way around, looking at the beautiful artwork, smelling the delicious baked goods (from bread to butter tarts), stopping to chat with the woman selling the gorgeous cutting boards that her husband makes……..2013-08-10 11.48.48

Then I visited the local Berry Blossoms Honey stand. 2013-08-10 11.50.36

I continued around the barn to one of my favourite products: the NoGo Coffee Company. Now this is the strangest tale because I don’t even like the taste of coffee. But I’m crazy about the smell of coffee! I just love it when my son Marty, the coffee connoisseur / baristas of the family, comes to visit. The house ALWAYS smells like coffee! Last Christmastime when my grown kids were here, we found this NoGo Coffee in our small local grocery store – locally roasted, organic, fair-trade coffee, who woulda thunk!?2013-08-10 11.57.35
Outside there were covered stands with all sorts of fresh, local produce. It was just great seeing all this fantastic food just waiting to be sold. One vendor, Rideau Pines Farm, has been around for decades. In fact, some of my kids went to school with the kids from that farm. They grow just about everything from Raspberries to Pumpkins and sell it here and at their farm with a welcoming smile always on their face.2013-08-10 12.00.12
If I’ve missed Saturday morning’s Farmers Market in the town 10 minutes north, I can always go to the Farmers Market on Sunday afternoon in the town 10 minutes south of me! They have everything you could desire from local meat to candles to clothes.
You don’t have to live in the country to benefit from a Farmers Market. One of the first Markets I ever went to was in the city of Hamilton, Ontario where I grew up. I loved walking through the market on Saturdays during my lunch break when I worked at the Zellers store downtown. I can still remember the smell of the smoked meats melted with the smell of fresh flowers. A few years ago when I was visiting my sister Faye, we went back to that Market just for old time sake.
When I was a young adult going to university and living in Kitchener, we would often go to the old Farmers Market in downtown Kitchener. I frequented it less often when they rebuilt it and many of the Mennonite vendors left to start another farmers market in Waterloo – and so did I.
Farmers Markets are a unique, traditional way of bringing food from the field to the table. I feel very lucky that there are markets like this all over the country.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Betty
    Aug 12, 2013 @ 00:37:20

    I LOVE our Farmer’s Market too!!… Such wonderful fresh products – locally grown… and they always have such great entertainment!!… It’s such a great place to socialize and you always meet someone you know!!… When you come to visit – we’ll make it a point to go to our Farmer’s Market here in the Comox Valley!!… We’ll need to get some nice baked goodies to have with my home-grown mint tea!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Where Meeples Meet

Games you'll want to play

Wilderness Return

My Wilderness Return Return to Nature, bushcraft, scrounge craft, writing

Off Grid and Free: My Path to the Wilderness

Practical advice for off-gridders, homesteaders, preppers. 37 years off-grid homesteading experience. Blog, videos, podcasts, book (print, ebook, audio)

Powell River Books Blog

Life, Family, Friends.....

The Radical Homemaker

Warning: Blending authenticity with joy may arouse contempt.

Mother Matters Burlington

Pregnancy, birth and postpartum support. Conscious parenting too!

B&H Your Community Grocer

Supporting Your Community Since 1963

Just another Day on the Farm

Living a step back in time

Natural Life Magazine's

green living blog by Editor Wendy Priesnitz

Vulnerable Watersheds

Life, Family, Friends.....

Pete's Alaska

Pete's Alaska — God, family, country my view out the cabin window.

Tiny House Ontario

To fill this life, with words, art, and maintain a lovely living forest.

Cam Mather

Books • Speaking • Consulting • etc.

Wuppenif

wuppenif...in other words, "what would happen if?"

Lactation Matters

The official blog of the International Lactation Consultant Association

