Yin Yang Weather

It’s cold and rainy today.  For the second day in a row, I’ve had to make a fire in the wood cookstove because it felt so cold and damp in the house.  It was about 5 degrees celsius (41 F) outside when I woke up today and yesterday PLUS ‘wind chill’ factored in to make it feel even colder!  It was a cool, sweater-wearing 15C (59F) in the house.   I don’t EVER remember making a fire inside in June!

 Cookstove

Cookstove

In fact, a week ago we had record breaking hot temperatures of 40C (104F) with the humidex.  The Weatherman said that when it’s hot and damp it feels even hotter (humidex factor)  but when it cold and damp it feels colder (wind chill factor).  I waited to put my indoor plants outside on the back deck until last week when the weather warmed up and the cool May temperatures left making it feel more like summer.  But alas, it was just temporary I guess.  I’m not too worried though since I leave these spider plants out until frost at the end of September.  In my garden, I haven’t seen any of my bean plants sprouting so I’m wondering if it’s too damp and cool for them and they’ve rotted – I may have to replant……… again.  And my poor tomato plants………. they are a sad looking lot.  I started them inside from seed in April so I might have to break down and buy a few more replacement plants.  My Sweet Potatoes sprouts have rooted and are still indoors waiting for the ground to warm up.  This is my ‘experiment’ plant this year as it’s the first time I’m attempting to grow it.  My reference is my favourite gardening book The All You Can Eat Gardening Handbook by Cam Mather from http://www.aztext.com/gardening_book.html

My favourite gardening book

My favourite gardening book

Yesterday I made soup since I just felt it matched with the cold, rainy day.  The recipe can be found here https://grammomsblog.wordpress.com/2013/01/26/chicken-vegetable-soup/ .  It is comfort food at this time of year……

Today my two granddaughters (9 and 7 years old) are here but we won’t be doing any outdoor activities in this cold rain.  On a brighter day, we could have fed the Koi in the pond or gone fishing in the river or gone for a walk.  But today we’ll spend the day reading Harry Potter, watching movies, or playing with their stuffed animals that they brought over with them.  My daughter Nellie crochets – http://www.etsy.com/shop/theBlackLory?page=2  and she made them a little mermaid  which they are playing with while they watch The Little Mermaid ll movie.

So I guess I’ll just have to go with the flow since there’s not much I can do about the weather anyway……

Bundle of Herbs

Bundle of Herbs for Soup

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. df
    Jun 09, 2013 @ 22:56:01

    Bet you enjoyed the genuine heat again today! Good luck with your sweet potatoes; I’ve not yet had the courage to try them.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Off Grid and Free: My Path to the Wilderness

Practical advice for off-gridders, homesteaders, preppers. 37 years off-grid homesteading experience. Blog, videos, podcasts, book (print, ebook, audio)

Powell River Books Blog

Life, Family, Friends.....

The Radical Homemaker

Warning: Blending authenticity with joy may arouse contempt.

Mother Matters Burlington

Pregnancy, birth and postpartum support. Conscious parenting too!

B&H Your Community Grocer

Supporting Your Community Since 1963

Just another Day on the Farm

Living a step back in time

Natural Life Magazine's

green living blog by Editor Wendy Priesnitz

Vulnerable Watersheds

Life, Family, Friends.....

Pete's Alaska

Pete's Alaska — God, family, country my view out the cabin window.

Supporting Breastfeeding

La Leche League Canada

Tiny House Ontario

To fill this life, with words, art, and maintain a lovely living forest.

Cam Mather

Books • Speaking • Consulting • etc.

Wuppenif

wuppenif...in other words, "what would happen if?"

Lactation Matters

The official blog of the International Lactation Consultant Association

thekitchensgarden

farming, gardens, cows, goats, chickens, food, organic, sustainable, photography,

