Earth Day

 

I celebrated Earth Day this year by finally getting rid of some of my old electronics.  My daughter-in-law Amanda’s school was having a fundraiser by recycling electronics so she asked me if I had any.  Boy, did I have some!  I still had my first old desktop computer from 1997 !  I had 3 old bulky computer monitors, 2 hard drive towers, one keyboard,  an old VCR, a dysfunctional DVD player, 2 printers, and a bag of assorted parts.  The entire back of my car was stuffed full when I took them up to Amanda.

Electronics Recycling

Electronics Recycling

Every day I do my part for the planet.  I heat my house with wood to reduce my carbon footprint;  I have a solar domestic, hot water system for my home;  I have a ‘recycling center’ under my kitchen sink (separate paper collection; plastics; compost; and ‘garbage’ , mostly packaging);  we have power bars on all our electronics which we can turn off when not in use;  and we never leave lights on in a room after we leave.  My municipality collects compost every week and every second week for regular ‘garbage’ and alternately paper recyclables or plastic recyclables.

Car packed with recycled electronics

Car packed with recycled electronics

Today, my sister Faye and I did our part for the planet to celebrate Earth Day by shopping at several thrift stores and buying a few new-to-us items.

I hope that today, Earth Day, we all consider our impact on the planet and take steps in our own way, to protect our beautiful world.

HAPPY EARTH DAY!

 

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rod
    Apr 22, 2013 @ 22:01:12

    I drove at 110 instead of 130 with that big V8 of mine… That has to help some… 😉

    Rod

    Reply

  2. Betty
    Apr 23, 2013 @ 00:54:36

    That is awesome Linda – being able to get rid of all that old computer equipment!!… Thank you Amanda’s school… What a great fundraiser!!

    I feel that I do my part by only having a tiny bag of garbage over the period of a week. I recycle all my tins, cardboard, plastics, papers, glass, etc. and have been doing that for over 35 years now… I also save all my table scraps, banana peelings, egg shells, etc., for two local pigs who are getting fat on these goodies that would have otherwise been thrown out… Lucky pigs!!….

    And I too – like my awesome sistas….only shop at thrift stores… I am proud to say that I did not buy anything “new” last year… and and doing the same this year…. (However, I do make an exception for incidentals!!)… LOL… Not only is it fun – I’m saving a bunch of moolah that will be used to do other cool stuff !!!

    Love ya sista….

    Bet… xo

    Reply

  3. thatoldschoolgirl
    Apr 23, 2013 @ 04:58:27

    I have all my old computer stuff at the back door waiting to go out. The local dump actually has a bin for recycling electronic items.

    Bet it felt good to get all of that out of the house 🙂

    Reply

    • grammomsblog
      Apr 23, 2013 @ 07:55:59

      Schoolgirl, you would not believe the relief from getting rid of that stuff! Now I have to just clean up the rest of the garage……
      It’s great that your dump recycles old electronics too!

      Reply

  4. dfdf
    Apr 25, 2013 @ 21:52:52

    I wish they would build technology to last, but at least we have these recycling options nowadays. And hurrah for great second-hand finds!

    Reply

    • grammomsblog
      Apr 26, 2013 @ 10:47:20

      Yes, I remember seeing on the news a few years ago the dumpsters full of old computers from government offices – now they are re-purposed or recycled.
      My favourite stores are second hand stores!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Where Meeples Meet

Games you'll want to play

Wilderness Return

My Wilderness Return Return to Nature, bushcraft, scrounge craft, writing

Off Grid and Free: My Path to the Wilderness

Practical advice for off-gridders, homesteaders, preppers. 37 years off-grid homesteading experience. Blog, videos, podcasts, book (print, ebook, audio)

Powell River Books Blog

Life, Family, Friends.....

The Radical Homemaker

Warning: Blending authenticity with joy may arouse contempt.

Mother Matters Burlington

Pregnancy, birth and postpartum support. Conscious parenting too!

B&H Your Community Grocer

Supporting Your Community Since 1963

Just another Day on the Farm

Living a step back in time

Natural Life Magazine's

green living blog by Editor Wendy Priesnitz

Vulnerable Watersheds

Life, Family, Friends.....

Pete's Alaska

Pete's Alaska — God, family, country my view out the cabin window.

Tiny House Ontario

To fill this life, with words, art, and maintain a lovely living forest.

Cam Mather

Books • Speaking • Consulting • etc.

Wuppenif

wuppenif...in other words, "what would happen if?"

Lactation Matters

The official blog of the International Lactation Consultant Association

