My ‘Lake of Shining Waters’

This morning when I woke up, I was greeted with one of my ‘Top Ten’ favourite sites to see in the whole wide world :  my ‘lake of shining waters’.  No, it’s not the lake from Lucy Maud Montgomery’s Anne of Green Gables .  It’s the Rideau River out in my backyard, freed from winter’s ice and greeting me with light sparkling like diamonds dancing off its surface.

My 'Lake of Shining Waters'

My ‘Lake of Shining Waters’

It’s a joy to behold after a long winter.  It’s the promise of spring and summer to come  (even though we’re supposed to get 15 cms (6 inches) of snow tomorrow.  Ugh!  Oops, I’m sorry – I promised I wouldn’t mention the “S” word anymore this spring).  Every single time I see that sparkling water, I’m reminded of Anne of Green Gables  – it’s why I call this beautiful site, the Lake of Shining Waters.  My oldest daughter Kristi and I used to watch the Anne of Green Gables movie in the 1990’s as well as all the sequels, over and over again.  We loved it SO much that when we went on a road trip to the maritimes in 1997, we HAD to visit the Anne of Green Gables home (National Historic Site) in Cavendish, Prince Edward Island ( http://www.pc.gc.ca/eng/lhn-nhs/pe/greengables/index.aspx ) and the  nearby ‘White Sands Motel’ (officially known as Dalvay-by-the-Sea).

Anne of Green Gables house, Cavendish, PEI

Anne of Green Gables house, Cavendish, PEI

I was beginning to wonder if the river’s ice was ever going to let go this spring!  It seemed to be taking a lot longer this year – last year’s break-up was a full 3 weeks earlier.   The channel in the middle of the river is the first to show water in a tiny sliver.  As the days go by, this ribbon of water gets wider and the ice along the shoreline begins to melt.   Lately, we’ve had a few very windy, rainy days which always help it along.  A few nights ago, there still seemed to be alot of ice right out to the channel, but when I woke up the next morning after a night of rain, the ice was all gone!  I guess that the increased water level helps too.

When I took some photos this morning, I was even more blessed with one of my ‘top ten’ favourite sounds:  the whistle of a distant train.  I doesn’t get any better than that!

My 'Lake of Shining Waters' , Rideau River

Summertime

 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Fred Schueler
    Apr 10, 2013 @ 10:53:37

    ah, the Vallisneria Sea! nobody lacks for garden mulch on the banks of the Rideau Canal.

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Spring Flood | Grammomsblog

Leave a Reply

PERC

The Ottawa Peace and Environment Resource Centre (PERC) is an incorporated, registered charity. It is primarily a volunteer-run, grassroots organization with a Board of Directors to govern its operations.

Where Meeples Meet

Great Board Games Reviews

Wilderness Return

My Wilderness Return Return to Nature, bushcraft, scrounge craft, writing

Off Grid and Free: My Path to the Wilderness

Practical advice for off-gridders, homesteaders, preppers. 37 years off-grid homesteading experience. Blog, videos, podcasts, book (print, ebook, audio)

Powell River Books Blog

Life, Family, Friends.....

The Radical Homemaker

Warning: Blending authenticity with joy may arouse contempt.

Mother Matters Burlington

Pregnancy, birth and postpartum support. Conscious parenting too!

B&H Your Community Grocer

Supporting Your Community Since 1963

Just another Day on the Farm

Living a step back in time

Natural Life Magazine's

green living blog by Editor Wendy Priesnitz

Vulnerable Watersheds

Life, Family, Friends.....

Pete's Alaska

Pete's Alaska — God, family, country my view out the cabin window.

Tiny House Ontario

To fill this life, with words, art, and maintain a lovely living forest.

Cam Mather

Books • Speaking • Consulting • etc.

Wuppenif

wuppenif...in other words, "what would happen if?"

Lactation Matters

The official blog of the International Lactation Consultant Association

