La Leche League

I have written many blogs about my family and my life as a Mom and now Gramma. From the very beginning on August 15, 1975 when I first became a Mother, I wanted to provide what I felt was the very BEST for my babies. So of course that meant that I was going to nurse my babies and give them the best start, the best nutrition, and the best mothering I could provide. I had heard about La Leche League, which is a mother-to-mother education and support group for breastfeeding women. Little did I realize at the time, what an incredible impact La Leche League was going to have on my life…….

Baby Taylor

Baby Taylor 1980

 

La Leche League has thousands of groups all over the world with hundreds in Canada (http://www.lllc.ca ). Accredited Leaders host monthly mothers meetings to provide information and encouragement to women who want to breastfeed their babies as well as telephone and email support. My baby Robin and I attended my first meeting when my firstborn was about 6 months old. Not only did I find all the information and support, I found lifelong friends and continued to attend group meetings. It was just what I needed as a new Mother! When son #2 Darin was about 6 months old in 1977, I began the process of becoming an accredited La Leche League Leader. I led meetings in southern Ontario and then took over a group when we moved here in 1981. My new LLLeague friends became my best friends: we hung out together with all our kids playing together during daytime playdates and shared life’s little adventures together. I still keep in touch with these women who I met at that first meeting. I was an active volunteer Leader for 10 years until I ‘retired’ to meet the needs of my large family and pursue my Midwifery and Lactation Consulting work.

Loving Daddy kisses

Loving Daddy kisses 1992

 

Now fast forward 25 years to today. In the fall of 2012, I decided to volunteer for La Leche League Canada again in another capacity as I was already interested in pursuing some kind of volunteer activity. I considered volunteering at the local hospital or hospice but I just felt that La Leche League was a perfect fit. Now that my children are all grown up, I am able to give my time freely based on a lifetime of experience, knowledge, and dedication. I already fully endorsed La Leche League’s philosophy of mother-to-mother support for breastfeeding families and providing educational opportunities for Health Professionals. The scope of my LLLC work is enormous and a necessary part of any non-profit organization. It will likely consume 10-20 hours of my time per week with emails, monthly meetings, committee work, etc. I will gratefully give at this level so that this wonderful organization can continue to help mothers across the country.MelHuggingDaddy
La Leche League Canada (LLLC) is a non-profit, charitable organization and is an affiliate to the parent group, La Leche League International. LLLC has a website http://lllc.ca where Mothers can go to find out where the next meeting is in their area or get help via an 1-800 breastfeeding referral line or where Health Professionals can get information about LLLC’s upcoming continuing education seminars or where you can make a donation …..
It’s exciting for me to again be part of an organization that’s been helping Canadian mothers for over 50 years. La Leche League is truly an authentic grass-roots organization started by 7 mothers in 1956 in Chicago which has morphed into the recognized world authority on breastfeeding and yet still maintains that simple mother-to-mother help at the basic level.
It is my honour to serve La Leche League again and ‘give back’ to this wonderful organization. I feel that I have now come full circle and can give my time freely to this organization that has had such a profound influence on my life. I am grateful to contribute to La Leche League Canada so that this awesome organization can continue to help breastfeeding mothers and babies across the country……..for another 50 years.

The next generation

The next generation 2005

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lpatangan
    Feb 08, 2013 @ 19:41:40

    I nursed my boys for 18 months and it was such a blessing to me. Now that they are older I look back and cherish those sweet moments all the more.

    Reply

  2. Manda
    Feb 09, 2013 @ 21:17:27

    Hey, I know those cute kids in the last picture ;o)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Where Meeples Meet

Games you'll want to play

Wilderness Return

My Wilderness Return Return to Nature, bushcraft, scrounge craft, writing

Off Grid and Free: My Path to the Wilderness

Practical advice for off-gridders, homesteaders, preppers. 37 years off-grid homesteading experience. Blog, videos, podcasts, book (print, ebook, audio)

Powell River Books Blog

Life, Family, Friends.....

The Radical Homemaker

Warning: Blending authenticity with joy may arouse contempt.

Mother Matters Burlington

Pregnancy, birth and postpartum support. Conscious parenting too!

B&H Your Community Grocer

Supporting Your Community Since 1963

Just another Day on the Farm

Living a step back in time

Natural Life Magazine's

green living blog by Editor Wendy Priesnitz

Vulnerable Watersheds

Life, Family, Friends.....

Pete's Alaska

Pete's Alaska — God, family, country my view out the cabin window.

Tiny House Ontario

To fill this life, with words, art, and maintain a lovely living forest.

Cam Mather

Books • Speaking • Consulting • etc.

Wuppenif

wuppenif...in other words, "what would happen if?"

Lactation Matters

The official blog of the International Lactation Consultant Association

