Chicken Vegetable Soup

I promised my cousin Bruce that I would post more recipes – maybe a recipe from my own cookbook, Mom’s Recipes, once a week. Well, now it’s the last week of January and I haven’t posted one single recipe! Sorry Bruce…… So today’s post is dedicated to you.
It’s been bitterly cold this week with temperatures dipping down to -41C (-42F) with windchill. I made cold weather comfort foods like soup, roasted Chicken, and Goulash. Soup is one of those amazing things to eat with so many variables that each time I make it, the taste and composition is different.

Bundle of Herbs

Bundle of Herbs

Today’s soup recipe is a variation of my Chicken Noodle Soup on page 20 of my cookbook, Mom’s Recipes. It’s kind of a Chicken-Vegetable Soup a.k.a. using up all the week’s leftovers by making a soup. I’ll list the entire ingredients at the bottom of the page. First off, earlier in the week, we had roasted chicken thighs with roast carrots and onions thrown in the pan. In addition, I baked a butternut squash (organic from my summer garden) along side on a tray – cut in half with the seeds scooped out (and saved for starting more squash plants for this summer’s garden) then placed inside up with a bit of water inside the scoop, then covered. Of course, we also had mashed potatoes and homemade gravy. I save the ‘potato water’ in a glass bottle in the fridge from all the potatoes I boiled all week long. After dinner, I put the chicken bones in pot of water with about a tablespoon or less of white vinegar (this helps bring out the marrow, I’m told) and boiled them for at least an hour. After this chicken broth cooled down, I added it to the bottle of potato water. All week, after supper, I saved leftovers in a glass container (I dislike plastic) so by today I had a 7 cup dish of cooked veggies like corn, mashed potatoes, carrots, onions, squash, and chicken as well as a liter of chicken broth/potato water.

Broth and Leftovers

Broth and Leftovers

Thanks to my daughter-in-law Jeanette, I discovered the secret to really tasty soup: fresh herbs especially Thyme. I tie up a bundle of thyme, rosemary, and a sprig of parsley with some thread and add it to the soup liquid plus more water to fill up the pot and then add all the rest of the leftovers, making sure I mash up the squash and potatoes. Add some freshly ground pepper and salt and just let this amazing smelling soup simmer on the stove all afternoon. This is an easy recipe for busy families with young children as it can be made in spits and spurts of time over the course of several hours. Of course, I ‘taste test’ it every once in a while ……….. yummmm. After it’s done, I take out the bundle of herbs and compost them. Remember, this ingredients list is fluid (pun intended lol) and can change. Last week I didn’t have any leftover potatoes or squash or even chicken so I just added some rice. My soup can be stored in a glass bottle to be eaten later during next week.

Soup simmering on my wood Cookstove

Soup simmering on my wood Cookstove

Today’s soup was simmered on my wood cookstove because it was already heating up the house not because the flavour was any better (except in my imagination). Thanks to my daughter-in-law Jeanette, I’ve learned not to be afraid of making soup! And the most important ingredient she introduced me to was Thyme – it gives soup that delicious ‘soup taste’.

 

 

Chicken Vegetable Soup Recipe
Chicken broth
Potato/vegetable ‘water’
Leftover Vegetables and meat, amounts don’t really matter
Herbs: Thyme, Rosemary, Parsley
Additional water, if needed
Salt (1 tsp or whatever) and pepper

Chicken Vegetable Soup

Chicken Vegetable Soup

*Last year at this time, I blogged about “My Technology Timeline”  and “Home Sweet Home“.

17 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Betty
    Jan 26, 2013 @ 14:47:49

    Sounds Yummy!!… I LOVE soup too…and I LOVE making it!!… Soup is sooo… good for the soul… but it is ESPECIALLY tasty when it’s cold, snowy, rainy, damp and just plain not nice outside!!…(but then – I make my Grandmother Annie Renouf’s famous Barley and Tomato soup in the summer because when my sisters Linda and Faye come to visit me here in BC – they insist that I make a pot because they both say that I make it the best… and it doesn’t matter if it’s 90 degrees… they still want it!!!)… Thanks for posting this sista… now I’m going to have to make some soup!!… I wish I was there to give yours a taste-test!!… xo

    Reply

    • grammomsblog
      Jan 26, 2013 @ 14:59:52

      I wish you were here too, Bet……
      Yes you can make Mom’s Barly and Tomato Soup ANYTIME for me!! My mouth is already watering for some because you make it the best and now I’ll have to wait till this summer.

      Reply

  2. WildernessReturn
    Jan 26, 2013 @ 17:00:48

    How big is your driveway, can I park there and come and do a taste test?

    Reply

  3. jeanette
    Jan 26, 2013 @ 17:57:30

    Glad I could help 🙂 It sounds delicious! I’m having a great time over here cooking up a storm before I get back to work as of tomorrow. Keep warm with the great winter dishes!

    Reply

  4. thatoldschoolgirl
    Jan 26, 2013 @ 18:58:02

    because the flavour was any better (except in my imagination)

    nope not your imagination…things always taste better on the wood stove. Looks yummy

    Reply

  5. Bruce
    Jan 27, 2013 @ 10:25:48

    Hi Linda,

    Thanks for the recipe. Mom’s barley soup is a regular on our table as well. Cheers

    Reply

  6. onestrangelifeblog
    Jan 28, 2013 @ 21:28:32

    Ohhh, ahhhh, lovely cookstove! Hey Wilderness Return…no you can’t taste test mister you said you were doing the raw vegan thing…LOL

    Reply

  7. cuckoo
    Jan 28, 2013 @ 22:28:02

    I agree about the thyme. I find celery essential to that “soup taste” too. Good soup to me is tossing junk into a pot and THEN making it taste good.

    Reply

  8. Trackback: Yin Yang Weather | Grammomsblog
  9. Trackback: First Fire | Grammomsblog

Leave a Reply

Off Grid and Free: My Path to the Wilderness

Practical advice for off-gridders, homesteaders, preppers. 37 years off-grid homesteading experience. Blog, videos, podcasts, book (print, ebook, audio)

Powell River Books Blog

Life, Family, Friends.....

The Radical Homemaker

Warning: Blending authenticity with joy may arouse contempt.

Mother Matters Burlington

Pregnancy, birth and postpartum support. Conscious parenting too!

B&H Your Community Grocer

Supporting Your Community Since 1963

Just another Day on the Farm

Living a step back in time

Natural Life Magazine's

green living blog by Editor Wendy Priesnitz

Vulnerable Watersheds

Life, Family, Friends.....

Pete's Alaska

Pete's Alaska — God, family, country my view out the cabin window.

Supporting Breastfeeding

La Leche League Canada

Tiny House Ontario

To fill this life, with words, art, and maintain a lovely living forest.

Cam Mather

Books • Speaking • Consulting • etc.

Wuppenif

wuppenif...in other words, "what would happen if?"

Lactation Matters

The official blog of the International Lactation Consultant Association

thekitchensgarden

farming, gardens, cows, goats, chickens, food, organic, sustainable, photography,

