Snowed In

Snow covered Porch

Snow covered Porch

Snow covered Cedar tree

Snow covered Cedar tree

We’ve had another dump of snow, for the second time in a week.  Last Friday, we had about 45 cms (18 inches) of wet, heavy snow.  This morning when we woke up, there was another 30 cms (12 inches) of light, fluffy snow which had fallen overnight.  It has continued to snow all day.  When I went outside to take some pictures, the snow was up to my knees!We wanted a white Christmas and boy did we get one!!   I am SO thankful that I hired someone to plow my driveway this winter – he’s earned his fee just this week alone!   Today, he came with the backhoe to clear out all the snow from my driveway.  Last week he had to come 3 times to plow all the snow.  The municipal snowplow has still not been down our road so hopefully soon…….. the end of our driveway will have to be shovelled or plowed out after the snowplow leaves a mountain of snow there while doing the road.

 

Woodpile

Woodpile

This afternoon, Melvin and Kelsey cleaned off the cars in the driveway and shovelled around them while Robin, Nici, Jeanette, and Marty went snowshoeing out on the ice along the edge of the river.

Melvin cleaning off Dar's car

Melvin cleaning off Dar’s car

I went out back to shovel the snow away from the back mudroom door as I couldn’t get it open.   While I was outside, I also added sunflower seeds to the bird feeders and hung up both halves of an orange as a treat for the birds.

Backyard

Backyard

The temperature was a balmy    -10 celsius (14F) and cloudy with light snow falling.    I put in a roast beef to have for supper, with roasted carrots, butternut squash, potatoes, and leftover Christmas turnip.

Yukon LOVES Snow

Yukon LOVES Snow

After the kids returned from snowshoeing, they warmed up some homemade Chili and made some fresh coffee and hot cocoa and combined the two with some mint extract for a delicious drink…………. then watched a movie while waiting for supper.

Nici returning from Snowshoeing

Nici returning from Snowshoeing

The hats, mitts, coats, and scarves are all hanging up or around the wood cookstove drying now, waiting for the next adventure outdoors.  I hear that we’re in for more snow in a few days.  I guess we should “be careful what we wish for”!

P.S.  By the time I got this posted, the municipal snowplow went down our road requiring a touch-up at the end of our driveway.  This gave my grown kids the opportunity to go over to Darin and Amanda’s for a movie and hot tub.

Downy Woodpecker at the Suet Feeder

Downy Woodpecker at the Suet Feeder

 

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. cecilia
    Dec 27, 2012 @ 20:23:00

    Goodness me, what a huge amount of snow, there is still none here at all, just flurries so light they are barely visible.. ! I am so glad you all had a good christmas! c

    Reply

    • grammomsblog
      Dec 27, 2012 @ 20:29:43

      Yes I noticed that you didn’t have ANY snow on the Farmy and I was quite surprised – we usually get what’s left over from your storms! lol
      I hope you had a good Christmas, even if it was from 40,000 feet up in the air!

      Reply

  2. df
    Dec 27, 2012 @ 20:48:18

    I could barely get around on my walk with the dog today; snowshoes are very needed at my house! Love your pictures and stories – enjoy being snowed in together!

    Reply

    • grammomsblog
      Dec 27, 2012 @ 21:10:08

      We’re enjoying a nice, warm, quiet evening at home – it’s still snowing outside! All 3 pair of snowshoes that I have were bought at garage sales for no more than $2.00 each. Unbelievable, eh?
      I’m glad you’re enjoying my blog….

      Reply

      • df
        Dec 27, 2012 @ 21:12:06

        So envious of your snowshoe bargain finds; I just haven’t had any success with them yet. Will keep looking, though weather like this would compel me to fork out for brand new ones if I could!

  3. thatoldschoolgirl
    Dec 31, 2012 @ 05:32:37

    Love the pictures.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Off Grid and Free: My Path to the Wilderness

Practical advice for off-gridders, homesteaders, preppers. 37 years off-grid homesteading experience. Blog, videos, podcasts, book (print, ebook, audio)

Powell River Books Blog

Life, Family, Friends.....

The Radical Homemaker

Warning: Blending authenticity with joy may arouse contempt.

Mother Matters Burlington

Pregnancy, birth and postpartum support. Conscious parenting too!

B&H Your Community Grocer

Supporting Your Community Since 1963

Just another Day on the Farm

Living a step back in time

Natural Life Magazine's

green living blog by Editor Wendy Priesnitz

Vulnerable Watersheds

Life, Family, Friends.....

Pete's Alaska

Pete's Alaska — God, family, country my view out the cabin window.

Supporting Breastfeeding

La Leche League Canada

Tiny House Ontario

To fill this life, with words, art, and maintain a lovely living forest.

Cam Mather

Books • Speaking • Consulting • etc.

Wuppenif

wuppenif...in other words, "what would happen if?"

Lactation Matters

The official blog of the International Lactation Consultant Association

thekitchensgarden

farming, gardens, cows, goats, chickens, food, organic, sustainable, photography,

