Christmas 2012

Merry Christmas to Everyone!

Christmas morning

Christmas morning

It’s Boxing Day today and Christmas Day 2012 is now behind us.  We had a wonderful time celebrating, eating, and spending time at home with family.  Amazingly, everyone slept in until after 8 a.m. then after coffee and tea were made, we commenced opening presents with Nellie, Melvin, Marty, Jeanette, and myself.   Nellie gave me an incredible Beatles calendar which had a Beatles album cover for every month of the year.   Gift giving is a little low-key around here, with the gathering of family most important.  Jeanette and I then made a delicious breakfast of bacon and french toast.  I prepared Melvin’s room for Robin and Nici’s visit then we began watching more Christmas movies like White Christmas with Bing Crosby and Danny Kaye, Disney Christmas with Micky and Donald Duck, Charlie Brown Christmas (boy I never realized how bossy Lucy was!),  Garfield Christmas (you gotta love Garfield’s Christmas spirit lol), The Grinch (animated), Muppet Family Christmas (my favourite), and Jim Carey’s How the Grinch Stole Christmas.    I had videotaped these shows from the 1980s and ’90s, including commercials which we thought were hilarious.  I made the dressing and stuffed the turkey then put it in the oven.  I cut up the carrots and turnip to have ready for cooking abit later.  Thankfully, Jeanette had spent the morning of Christmas Eve, cutting up all the veggies and cheese for snacking on Christmas Day.  Then the rest of the family started to arrive:  Darin and Amanda and the girls and Kristi and Mike.  Of course, the children were ALL excited about the morning’s events at their homes and told us about their new toys.   Another load of gifts entered the house and another round of gift opening began!  Haha, I just had to chuckle that at the end of opening lots of presents, the grandchildren ended up playing with their very own package of bubble wrap that I got each of them from the Dollarama!  (I KNEW they would love it)  My children got me a new set of Lagostina pots and pans since they were tired of looking at my mismatched 40 year old pots as well as some new oven mitts (much needed) and spatulas. Melvin immediately laid claim to the old pots for his eventual move to the city for college next year.

Christmas Fun

Christmas Fun

Just as we were settling in for tea and Christmas goodies, it was time for Darin to leave for the airport to pick up Robin and Nici who were flying in from Vancouver.   I was missing Taylor’s presence but he telephoned after supper and talked to many of us before Livi said goodbye and hung up on him by accident!   It was mayhem when Robin and Nici arrived as everybody was excited to see them.   After the dust settled, supper was ready and everyone pitched in to get the table set for 14, dressing scooped out, turkey sliced, gravy made, potatoes mashed, carrots and turnip drained, and plates served.  I was SO full after eating the delicious turkey dinner that I almost didn’t have room for dessert!  …….. almost.

Opening gifts

Opening gifts

After supper, Melvin offered to wash ALL the pots and pans, serving bowls, etc which took him the better part of an hour!  He had a better sense of appreciation for what I do on a regular basis and even apologized for just leaving the table after daily supper and sitting down, leaving ME to clean up!    We set the table up with desserts for everyone to help themselves:  Cherry cheesecake, Coconut Macaroons, Hello Dollies, Rice Krispie Squares, Turtles Cookies, Chocolate chip cookies, and Chow Mein Clusters.  Then we watched Mike’s favourite movie, Muppets in Space.  Afterwards, the grandkids and their parents went home and the others went outside for a walk in the bright moonlight, looking for animal tracks and taking pictures of the stars.Darin came back after helping Amanda put the kids to bed and we played a card game, A**hole/Capitalism.  Around 11:30 p.m. they decided to watch a movie but I went to bed.

Kitten's favourite gift

Kitten’s favourite gift

I felt totally blessed to have my family close by at Christmastime.   Today some of them are in the city visiting relatives while those of us at home enjoy a quiet day.  I’ve made a pot of Chili for supper or whenever anyone wants to eat.  Tonight we’re supposed to get another snowstorm with 15-25 cms (6-10 inches) of snow, so tomorrow will be another quiet day.

I hope all of you reading my blog enjoyed a wonderful Christmas day.

A White Christmas

A White Christmas

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Anita
    Dec 26, 2012 @ 21:01:31

    It sounds like a great family time!! If I could eat unlimited amounts of sugar I’d be all for the chocolate macaroons!! yum!

    Reply

    • grammomsblog
      Dec 26, 2012 @ 21:52:10

      I know what you mean Anita – I must watch my sugar intake …… But everyone else doesn’t!
      And this year I added double cocoa to the Macaroons! Yummy!

      Reply

  2. Betty
    Dec 27, 2012 @ 00:32:01

    Sounds like you all had a wonderful time… as did we!!.. Having our beloved Coco here for Christmas was really special for all of us… She made our Christmas the most joyful EVER!!!

    I was chuckling as I was reading what you had for Christmas dinner… cuz we had EXACTLY the same thing!!… I MUST have my mashed potatoes and turnip!!.. Christmas dinner would NOT be the same without it… Our dear mother used to make the same thing too!!!… I didn’t make all those yummy treats though… I got mine from the local bakery!!…LOL

    And although we didn’t get a chance to chat… I was thinkin’ about all of ya’s!!… Talk to you soon… and best wishes for 2013!!!

    Love Bet and family…xo

    Reply

    • grammomsblog
      Dec 27, 2012 @ 14:54:35

      Hahaha, Sista, isn’t that funny that we still make the same ‘comfort’ Christmas food!
      I was thinking about you and everyone all day too. I’m glad you had a chance to have Coco for Christmas this year.
      I’ll talk to you soon……

      Reply

  3. Rod Sinclair
    Dec 27, 2012 @ 09:37:00

    Merry Christmas Linda!

    From the Sinclair Clan!

    Reply

    • grammomsblog
      Dec 27, 2012 @ 14:55:25

      Merry Christmas to you and everyone too Rod. I see that your Mom and Dad were up too!

      Reply

      • Rod Sinclair
        Dec 27, 2012 @ 15:10:46

        They are here until Sunday…

        •••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••• Rod Sinclair – Brighton, ON Sent from my iThingy…

  4. thatoldschoolgirl
    Dec 31, 2012 @ 05:30:27

    That to me is what the perfect Christmas is. Thanks for sharing

    Reply

  5. grammomsblog
    Dec 31, 2012 @ 09:18:18

    Your welcome. It WAS pretty great, I have to say……

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Off Grid and Free: My Path to the Wilderness

Practical advice for off-gridders, homesteaders, preppers. 37 years off-grid homesteading experience. Blog, videos, podcasts, book (print, ebook, audio)

Powell River Books Blog

Life, Family, Friends.....

The Radical Homemaker

Warning: Blending authenticity with joy may arouse contempt.

Mother Matters Burlington

Pregnancy, birth and postpartum support. Conscious parenting too!

B&H Your Community Grocer

Supporting Your Community Since 1963

Just another Day on the Farm

Living a step back in time

Natural Life Magazine's

green living blog by Editor Wendy Priesnitz

Vulnerable Watersheds

Life, Family, Friends.....

Pete's Alaska

Pete's Alaska — God, family, country my view out the cabin window.

Supporting Breastfeeding

La Leche League Canada

Tiny House Ontario

To fill this life, with words, art, and maintain a lovely living forest.

Life, Family, Friends.....

Cam Mather

Books • Speaking • Consulting • etc.

Wuppenif

wuppenif...in other words, "what would happen if?"

Lactation Matters

The official blog of the International Lactation Consultant Association

thekitchensgarden

farming, gardens, cows, goats, chickens, food, organic, sustainable, photography,

