Our Christmas Tree

I thought I wouldn’t write a post about our Christmas tree this year but I just couldn’t help myself!   Last year, I wrote a story (‘O Christmas Tree’) about cutting down and decorating our tree.  But this year was extra special because Marty and Jeanette are here for Christmas, so I just HAD to write about it and report our adventure to you – my blog, my rules!

Searching for the Perfect Tree

Searching for the Perfect Tree

Last weekend, we drove out to Campbell’s Christmas Tree Farm, a no bells and whistles, no gift shop, no sleigh rides, no complimentary hot beverage…….. and no price gouging family farm.  The trees cost $25.00 instead of the $65.00 cut-your-own trees closer to the city.  They’re pretty low tech with no website or email address………. just cut-you-own Christmas Trees.  All my grown kids who live close by came along:  Darin, Amanda, Kalia, Olivia, Kristi, Mike, Marty, Jeanette, Nellie, Melvin, and myself.  With Darin in the lead, we trudged through somewhat frozen puddles into the bush then back out again searching for that perfect Scotch Pine tree.  Finally, close to the beginning of our adventure, we found the Perfect Tree.

Found!

Found!

So Melvin sawed it down in record time and we brought it back to the car, tied it on the roof, and went back to Darin’s for Chili and Toast.

3 Trees on 3 Cars

3 Trees on 3 Cars

The next day, we brought it into the house and decorated it beautifully.  Our cat has decided that he likes the bottom piece of  garland and takes it off every night, in addition to a few pine trees from my Winter village.

Melvin & Marty decorating the Tree

Melvin & Marty decorating the Tree

I want to share some of my favourite decorations that we’ve collected or made over the years:

Bubble Light

Bubble Light

This Bubble Light is my favourite of all – one of only 2 I have left.  When I was a kid, my next door neighbour had bubble lights like these and I used to stare at them, mesmerized.  I found them for sale again about 20 years ago, but now I can’t buy replacement bubble lights – so I cherish these two.  The glass ampoule is filled with coloured liquid that heats up from the light until it bubbles – cool, really cool.  I also have a mini set that I bought from Avon, I think.

Marty's Star Wars decoration

Marty’s Star Wars decoration

I love this little decoration!  Marty made it when he was about 10 years old – he loves the Star Wars movie trilogy SO much that we just HAD to have a decoration for our tree.  It’s shaped like a Christmas tree ball, two-sided, with cardboard in between.  That’s one fierce battle going on in his depiction of “the Forse is Forever” ornament!

Perce Rock

Perce Rock

I’m fond of this hand carved and hand painted ornament  of our beloved Perce Rock from the Gaspe, on Canada’s east coast.  Since we were children, we’ve been going back to New Carlisle, Quebec to visit relatives.  Every trip included a 2 hour drive to Perce where this famous rock sits in the ocean like a sentry guarding Chaleur Bay.  One year, the town of Perce had a ‘Christmas Shop’ where I found this beautiful depiction of Perce Rock.  I look forward to hanging it on my tree every year in a prominent spot that I can see clearly from my chair.

Grapevine Wreath ornaments

Darin’s Grapevine Wreath ornaments

Darin made me about a dozen of these wild grape vine wreaths for our Christmas tree when he was a young lad.   He did such a good job of winding them around themselves that they’ve never come apart.   I don’t know how many of them I have left as I think that I’ve given him some for their Christmas tree……

Brass Ornament

Brass Ornament

Each one of my children, most of my children-in-law, and grandchildren have their own name on a brass ornament.  I still have to find two more for Jeanette and my newest daughter-in-law Nici.  I’ve looked everywhere in town this year but I have been unable to find any brass ornaments.   So when I do, I will have their names engraved on one just like the rest of the family.

Handstitched Bears in Kenyan Basket

Hand stitched Bears in Kenyan Basket

I received two of these lovely hand-made African baskets from a friend living in Kenya in 1987, when we were both on the Board of Directors of the International Lactation Consultants Association.  I see that this year, Melvin added Nana Lil’s hand-stitched bears to go along for the ride.  Whenever I hang this ornament, I think back to those busy days and fondly remember my friend Helen……

Birdfeeder

Bird feeder

Ice Skates

Ice Skates

Drum

Drum

These Christmas Tree ornaments were made by ‘Church ladies’ and bought at local church Christmas bazaars over the years.  Every year when I take out the Birdfeeder decoration, I’m amazed that the mice haven’t somehow eaten their way into the Rubbermaid container to get at the birdseed in the ornament.   I always wrap this one up in used tissue paper  and put it in a used envelope when I take it off the tree after Christmas.  The knitted drum is really cute:  simply made around a toilet paper roll.  And I love the Ice Skates knit with a paper clip for the blades and attached together with the yarn!  Adorable!

Well those are some of my favourite Christmas Ornaments.  I hope I haven’t bored you…….. I could go on and on – I have alot of favourites!

P.S.  Happy 18th Birthday to my son Melvin!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Maureen Sinclair
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 15:08:28

    HI,
    Your stories are great Linda, I never get bored reading them, They are amazing to read about your life & your children. Murray & I wish you all a Merry Christmas & A Happy New Year, All the best of everything for 2013,
    Love: Maureen & Murray xo

    Reply

  2. df
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 00:30:47

    Lovely to hear about your tree and your favourite decorations. The best trees are, to me, a hodge podge of lovely memories. I could never have a ‘designed’ tree, though they may be beautiful to look at!

    Reply

    • grammomsblog
      Dec 21, 2012 @ 08:44:46

      Yes , df, I agree with your thoughts on the perfect Christmas tree. I can remember where I got every single decoration and every year, my kids have to (painfully) listen to my excited stories about all the ornaments’ histories…..again! Lol
      ‘Merry Christmas’ to you and your family. Have fun in todays winter wonderland!

      Reply

  3. onestrangelifeblog
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 16:50:55

    Thanks I enjoyed reading this. I had forgotten about those Bubble Lights. I hope you all have a wonderful Christmas 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Where Meeples Meet

Games you'll want to play

Wilderness Return

My Wilderness Return Return to Nature, bushcraft, scrounge craft, writing

Off Grid and Free: My Path to the Wilderness

Practical advice for off-gridders, homesteaders, preppers. 37 years off-grid homesteading experience. Blog, videos, podcasts, book (print, ebook, audio)

Powell River Books Blog

Life, Family, Friends.....

The Radical Homemaker

Warning: Blending authenticity with joy may arouse contempt.

Mother Matters Burlington

Pregnancy, birth and postpartum support. Conscious parenting too!

B&H Your Community Grocer

Supporting Your Community Since 1963

Just another Day on the Farm

Living a step back in time

Natural Life Magazine's

green living blog by Editor Wendy Priesnitz

Vulnerable Watersheds

Life, Family, Friends.....

Pete's Alaska

Pete's Alaska — God, family, country my view out the cabin window.

Tiny House Ontario

To fill this life, with words, art, and maintain a lovely living forest.

Cam Mather

Books • Speaking • Consulting • etc.

Wuppenif

wuppenif...in other words, "what would happen if?"

Lactation Matters

The official blog of the International Lactation Consultant Association

