Dentist Visit

View from the Dental Chair

View from the Dental Chair

Recently, I made my annual visit to the dentist.  I’ve been going to the same dentist for almost 30 years now.  All of my children went there too.  The same dental assistant, dental hygienist, and dentist still practice in this little small town dental office.  At one time, they were the only game in town, but now there are 3 other dental practices offering a variety of services like laser or pain-free dentistry.  But I still like my dentist anyway.  We have an ‘understanding’.  I’m not a “standard quo” lady – I do not partake in ‘routine’ anything.  No routine dental x-rays for my children and I.   I just couldn’t see radiating my kids or myself every six months for no specific reason.   Since we rarely had cavities, we saw the dentist once a year rather than every six months.

I like this dental office because it’s open concept:  there are no rooms just ‘areas’ where the dental hygienists will clean your teeth or Simon will fill your cavity.  Simon’s area is the first one you pass as you walk back for your teeth cleaning:  the patient is usually in full dentistry mode reclined in the chair with Simon and Jane, the Dental Assistant, flanking him/her.  They always say hi as you pass and ask how you’re doing, all while they perform their dental magic.  As you recline in the Hygienist’s massage chair, you can hear the drilling in another area, loud and clear.  I think this open concept theme is specifically created so that everyone remains calm and doesn’t wimp out knowing that everyone else in the office can hear you lol.

Open Concept View

Open Concept View – from Dental Chair

There was one time that Simon and I had a ‘heated’ discussion:  one of my children needed a filling and the usual mode was to give a child nitrous oxide (laughing gas) to perform the procedure.  “What are the other options”, I asked.   They were:  nothing or local freezing.  I knew he was SO skilled that the filling would be virtually pain-free.   Ever since then, we understand each other perfectly!  Don’t get me wrong, I’m not completely opposed to nitrous oxide and in fact I did suggest it once for one of my kids who was a biter.

Simon, his staff, and I get along great.  Since they’ve been there SO long, we know all about each other.  They always ask about what’s new with me and how the other grown kids are doing or where they are living or how many grandkids I have now…….. just friendly chit-chat.  My dental hygienist’s daughter was my son’s high school teacher…..

Mouth 'Froze up' - my point of view

Mouth ‘Froze up’ – my view

Last month’s trip to the dentist brought the same result:  clean teeth, no cavities, but a 45 year old silver filling loosened/cracked and  needs repair.   It seems that every filling I had done way back then by that other dentist is now becoming a problem.  So today, I went in and got that old silver amalgam filling removed and a fresh new white one installed.   Simon began with local freezing which wasn’t too bad.  Then after 5 minutes or so – to allow my gums, half my tongue, and the left side of my face and lips to go numb – we began.  Well I just laid back.  I wore safety glasses since the old filling bits can fly about during the drilling out…….. oh, am I being too graphic?  lol   Ha, I was taking in all the sights and sounds and smells all whilst trying not to gag on the water being sprayed into  my mouth!   Simon did most of the talking of course with me just saying the occasional “uhuh”.   Note to self:  eat before you go to the dentist at noonish.   I failed to do so because I went shopping and was quite in need of nourishment by the time we finished around 2 p.m. (he was running late….).   Isn’t it kind of funny how huge your tongue and cheeks feel when ‘frozen’ – I massaged my cheeks a bit the aid the de-freezing.  Unfortunately, most of my mouth, tongue and lips were still quite frozen at 4 p.m. but I just had to eat anyway, hoping I wouldn’t bite my tongue.

So, I’m glad that’s over with for another year.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. onestrangelifeblog
    Dec 13, 2012 @ 22:56:20

    Lucky you, I haven’t been to the dentist in 30 years and my kids have been 2 times I think (ages 20 and 23) No money, wish we had OHIP for that sort of thing here. Glad you got it done and over with.

    Reply

  2. cecilia
    Dec 14, 2012 @ 14:47:11

    I am an absolute baby when it comes to the dentist, but broke a back tooth before i came to NZ, so i am looking forward to a crown when I get home.. I have NEVER found a dentist i liked though.. lucky you have.. c

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Off Grid and Free: My Path to the Wilderness

Practical advice for off-gridders, homesteaders, preppers. 37 years off-grid homesteading experience. Blog, videos, podcasts, book (print, ebook, audio)

Powell River Books Blog

Life, Family, Friends.....

The Radical Homemaker

Warning: Blending authenticity with joy may arouse contempt.

Mother Matters Burlington

Pregnancy, birth and postpartum support. Conscious parenting too!

B&H Your Community Grocer

Supporting Your Community Since 1963

Just another Day on the Farm

Living a step back in time

Natural Life Magazine's

green living blog by Editor Wendy Priesnitz

Vulnerable Watersheds

Life, Family, Friends.....

Pete's Alaska

Pete's Alaska — God, family, country my view out the cabin window.

Supporting Breastfeeding

La Leche League Canada

Tiny House Ontario

To fill this life, with words, art, and maintain a lovely living forest.

Cam Mather

Books • Speaking • Consulting • etc.

Wuppenif

wuppenif...in other words, "what would happen if?"

Lactation Matters

The official blog of the International Lactation Consultant Association

thekitchensgarden

farming, gardens, cows, goats, chickens, food, organic, sustainable, photography,

