Curried Squash Soup

With it looking so wintery outside, I thought I’d share with you one of my favourite recipes:  Curried Squash Soup.  I have to admit, I wasn’t a curry fan ever since my university days when the people in the apartment down the hall lived and breathed curry…….. and so did the rest of the floor as the odour permeated right into our apartment.  Heck,  I wouldn’t even use curry inside my house and refused to let anyone else use it, until……… my son Marty said “Mom just try it!”.  So I reluctantly allowed him to cook an Asian dish with curry in it (probably because I was abit fatigued from cooking for the last 40 years, 3 meals a day Haha).  Marty and his girlfriend Jeanette are world travellers and have spent alot of time in Indonesia (where you tell them to put in “no spice” just to make the spiciness palatable) and Malaysia, as well as other countries like Thailand, Cambodia, Vietnam, Laos, India, Nepal, and even China.  So, I trusted his expertise.  Plus I felt that I was being too stuck in my ways and needed to ‘expand my horizons’ ….   Marty’s stirfry tasted awesome and I was hooked on curry!   I didn’t realize that there were SO many types of curry from red, green, yellow, etc.  – I think red is the hottest.

Organic Homegrown Squash

Now about winter squash – I just discovered this vegetable a few years ago and it’s become my favourite winter veggie.  There’s Acorn squash, Buttercup squash, and my favourite, Butternut squash plus others like spaghetti squash.  It grows very easily in my garden.  I cut it in half, scoop the seeds out, add a spoonful of water to the scooped-out inside, put it on a baking sheet covered, then bake for about an hour and a half. I usually bake it in the oven when I have something  else cooking in there……  It goes really nice with any ‘meat and potatoes’ type dish or I just save it in the fridge for making this Curried Squash Soup another day.

Baked Butternut Squash

So without further adieu, here’s the recipe (which came from Jeanette, by the way):

Curried Squash Soup

1 and 1/2 cups cooked Butternut Squash

1 medium Onion, chopped

1 Tablespoon Butter

1 Tablespoon Curry Powder (I use the yellow kind ), a bit more if you like

1 Cup Sweet Apple Cider or Apple Juice, if you don’t have any cider

1 Cup Chicken Stock or more if it’s too thick

Salt and Pepper, to taste

Bake squash, cut in half, @ 350F for 1 hour.  Scoop out.

Saute onion in butter in frying pan over medium-low heat until soft.  Add curry and cook 2-3 minutes.

Put squash in blender/food processor.  Add onions and a little chicken stock.  Puree.

Add Apple Cider/Juice and more Chicken stock.

Add Salt and pepper.

Puree until smoothish.

Heat and serve.

or you can put in the fridge and just heat a bowl/cup at a time when you’re ready.

Easy peesy!  And SO nutritious too!

Curried Squash Soup

Awesome!  My mouth is already watering as I write this !  Enjoy.

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Just another day on the farm
    Nov 29, 2012 @ 09:45:14

    lovely soup, but I have to admit to being surprised that you only started growing the squashes a couple years ago, Are they not that popular in your area, I remember folks have lots and lots of squashes from as far back as my memory goes, huge bins of them stored in the winter, they were as important in their own way as potato’s were.. As I am sure you know, if stored correctly, while they get drier, you can hold certain types pretty much over the whole winter for fresh eating.

    I think its in empire of the bay? that has a qoute from a letter of a explorer of the hudson bay company talking about riding for a full week in upper canada though the local sqaush fields, what I found most interesting about it, was he didn’t say the 3 sisters fieds or a version of the same thing.. Can you imagine area planted with enough squash to ride from morning to night for seven days on horse back to reach the other side..

    Reply

    • grammomsblog
      Nov 29, 2012 @ 09:55:18

      Trust me, I can’t believe I only started growing/eating squash a few years ago either! They are such a ‘no fuss’ vegetable to grow……. anywhere. This year I grew Butternut squash and I know it will keep until next spring – if it lasts that long lol.
      Thanks for that history tidbit – amazing!

      Reply

  2. Maureen Sinclair
    Nov 29, 2012 @ 19:14:41

    Sounds good Linda,

    Reply

  3. thatoldschoolgirl
    Nov 30, 2012 @ 06:02:12

    I will have to try this one with mom. Never thought of using sweet apple cider

    Reply

    • grammomsblog
      Nov 30, 2012 @ 11:19:49

      I’m sure your Mom will love it – last time I added an additional 1/2 tablespoon of curry just to give it a little more bite. Even though it was excellent, it gave me heartburn for a few hours…….. but SO worth it!
      Thatoldschoolgirl, welcome to Grammomsblog. I’m glad you joined us!

      Reply

      • thatoldschoolgirl
        Dec 01, 2012 @ 05:50:47

        Thatoldschoolgirl, welcome to Grammomsblog. I’m glad you joined us!

        mmmm ty but I have been following and commenting for a while :oops

    • grammomsblog
      Dec 01, 2012 @ 09:22:31

      Yes I know, but I never officially welcomed you…..

      Reply

  4. Dulcimer
    Nov 30, 2012 @ 09:58:30

    Looks lovely! I make a lot of meals with butternut squash. I love to roast it with sage, and I can always go for a bisque-type soup, but one of my favorite ways to have it is a butternut pasta sauce I make and freeze for use throughout the winter. You just chunk and roast the squash with olive oil and salt and sage, then puree with half and half for a creamy sauce that’s particularly good on ravioli and other filled pastas.

    Reply

  5. Bet
    Nov 30, 2012 @ 18:36:36

    Sounds absolutely scrumptious!!!… I have made curried yam soup… and it’s wonderful too… Another curry recipe to try is this awesome concoction – cauliflower, potatoes and onions… you will love it!!… I tried it for the first time about 6 months ago and I’m hooked!!… I’ll send you the recipe sista… xo

    Reply

  6. Trackback: Candied Squash | Grammomsblog

Leave a Reply

Off Grid and Free: My Path to the Wilderness

Practical advice for off-gridders, homesteaders, preppers. 37 years off-grid homesteading experience. Blog, videos, podcasts, book (print, ebook, audio)

Powell River Books Blog

Life, Family, Friends.....

The Radical Homemaker

Warning: Blending authenticity with joy may arouse contempt.

Mother Matters Burlington

Pregnancy, birth and postpartum support. Conscious parenting too!

B&H Your Community Grocer

Supporting Your Community Since 1963

Just another Day on the Farm

Living a step back in time

Natural Life Magazine's

green living blog by Editor Wendy Priesnitz

Vulnerable Watersheds

Life, Family, Friends.....

Pete's Alaska

Pete's Alaska — God, family, country my view out the cabin window.

Supporting Breastfeeding

La Leche League Canada

Tiny House Ontario

To fill this life, with words, art, and maintain a lovely living forest.

Life, Family, Friends.....

Cam Mather

Books • Speaking • Consulting • etc.

Wuppenif

wuppenif...in other words, "what would happen if?"

Lactation Matters

The official blog of the International Lactation Consultant Association

thekitchensgarden

farming, gardens, cows, goats, chickens, food, organic, sustainable, photography,

