First Snowfall

Sparkly Snow on Pine

I’m like a kid on Christmas morning today because we had our first snowfall of the season!  It was just a measly 5 cms  (2 inches) but it looks awesome.  EVERYTHING is coated in white fluffy snow and the river has skimmed over with ice out to the main channel.  Now it looks like winter!  My son Marty, in Malaysia, was just asking me last week if we had snow yet – but that day it was +10 degrees celsius (50 F) outside.  Today it doesn’t bother me that it’s Minus 10C (14F) and we have 4 months ahead of us of cold, snowy weather – I don’t care.   My red and white Canada flag really stands out at the beach in the white snow – it’s tattered but it will tell me which way the wind is blowing all winter long.  I’ve got a fire on in the cookstove, so I’m warm and toasty.   Here are some pictures of our first snowfall:

Sugar Coating of Snow

One thing that I love about snow is that everything gets covered up by this frosty precipitation!  You can’t see all those leaves in the driveway that I didn’t rake up, can you?  And I bet you don’t even notice the perennials that I didn’t get cut down either?  lol

Road

The road always looks so desolate after a snowfall – like we live in the middle of nowhere…….  I’m just grateful that my neighbour Randy has a big truck that always leave big tire spaces for me to walk in after a snowfall!

Snow on Glass Ball

I can always measure the snow by looking at the amount on top of the red glass sphere in the garden – it’s about the size of a basketball and sits on top of a strawberry pot.  In a few short months, the snow will be over top of that entire ball.

Yucca Plant

Isn’t this Yucca filamentosa plant so cool?  It’s amazing to me how a plant that is almost tropical-like can survive in our cold winters and hot summers.  The sword-like leaves stay green all year long, except it gets covered in a couple of feet of snow around here.

Yukon loves the snow

My husky dog Yukon just loves the snow!  Even though he’s 15 years old now, he acts just like a puppy when it snows – he gets SO excited rooting his nose into the snow and making “doggy angels” while rolling around in the white stuff.

Backyard

It’s alway nice to look out my big windows at this sight – I will never tire of this……..

 

 

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Bet
    Nov 26, 2012 @ 10:47:09

    Everything looks soooo beautiful Lin… Nice and fresh…. I’ve heard we have snow on Mount Washington now… I guess I’ll be going skiing this weekend!!… YIPPEE!!

    Reply

    • grammomsblog
      Nov 26, 2012 @ 11:03:12

      It IS lovely here Bet. But I know out on Vancouver Island you have the best of both worlds: skiing in the morning and walking along the beach in the afternoon……. ahhh, life is good.

      Reply

  2. cecilia
    Nov 26, 2012 @ 12:07:47

    snow does make everything look gorgeous, a great leveller.. though none of it here for the meantime please, I hate the thought of the Milkers slogging through snow to do my chores.. c

    Reply

  3. df
    Nov 26, 2012 @ 23:27:21

    Wonderful pictures – we were revelling in the new snow over here today too.

    Reply

  4. thatoldschoolgirl
    Nov 27, 2012 @ 06:50:25

    wow pretty as a post card

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Where Meeples Meet

Games you'll want to play

Wilderness Return

My Wilderness Return Return to Nature, bushcraft, scrounge craft, writing

Off Grid and Free: My Path to the Wilderness

Practical advice for off-gridders, homesteaders, preppers. 37 years off-grid homesteading experience. Blog, videos, podcasts, book (print, ebook, audio)

Powell River Books Blog

Life, Family, Friends.....

The Radical Homemaker

Warning: Blending authenticity with joy may arouse contempt.

Mother Matters Burlington

Pregnancy, birth and postpartum support. Conscious parenting too!

B&H Your Community Grocer

Supporting Your Community Since 1963

Just another Day on the Farm

Living a step back in time

Natural Life Magazine's

green living blog by Editor Wendy Priesnitz

Vulnerable Watersheds

Life, Family, Friends.....

Pete's Alaska

Pete's Alaska — God, family, country my view out the cabin window.

Tiny House Ontario

To fill this life, with words, art, and maintain a lovely living forest.

Cam Mather

Books • Speaking • Consulting • etc.

Wuppenif

wuppenif...in other words, "what would happen if?"

Lactation Matters

The official blog of the International Lactation Consultant Association

