Smokin’ Cigarettes – NOT!

Phlox

I am proud to say that I am a lifetime non-smoker.  Oh, I did try smoking once – my dear Sister MADE me take a drag off of everyone’s cigarette at her party once when I was a teenybopper in the ’60s…… and I was SO sick, I NEVER EVER wanted to smoke again.  EVER!

Oh how times have changed:  when I was a little girl in the ’50s, my next door neighbour used to send me to the corner store to buy cigarettes for her!  I think they cost 25-30 cents for a pack.  I even got to spend a few pennies on candy for my service!  LOL – can you imagine that happening today?  (illegal where I live)  Child abuse!

Some of my pet peeves revolve around cigarettes.  I’m really perturbed when I see cigarette butts on the ground when I’m walking around or in town.  I can feel my blood pressure rise when I find one in my own driveway!   I have no idea how it gets there but picking it up is like touching the plague to me.  Or while walking leisurely,  I unexpectedly take in a deep breath of someone else’s cigarette smoke!  Grrrr!

I think that most of the arguments I had with my late husband Chris were about cigarette smoking.  I hated the fact that he smoked, even though he took his bad habit outside rather than pollute the inside of our home.   He ‘quit’ smoking cigarettes and graduated to ‘Colts’ (baby cigars, kinda)  – and I wasn’t fooled one bit.   I knew that his choice to smoke affected our entire family.   I will always believe that the additives in cigarettes are carcinogenic and on a cellular level, they can alter cells in the entire body not just the lungs.   I feel that cigarette smoking was a contributing factor in his Prostate Cancer and death.  Can you tell that I’m still resentful?   My Dad died of lung cancer grown from 60 years of smoking too ……

Chris

My choice to be a life long non-smoker was simple:  I didn’t like smoke.  I didn’t like spending money on something that just burned up right before my eyes.  I preferred to taste my food rather than having my taste buds stunted by cigarettes.  I’d rather smell the roses than the smoke all over my clothes and body.  I like white teeth not nicotine-yellowed teeth.  Same goes for my fingers.

I’m pretty critical (to myself) when standing in a line-up behind a smoker.  OMG, I just choke at the reek of smoke on some people – I’ve even left the line and gone to another one.  But worse critics than me are Ex-smokers!  hahaha

I’m pretty proud of both my Sister Faye and my Son Taylor since they quit smoking this year.  I’m sure it’s a struggle and not easy and I appreciate their committment.   Bravo!

I started on this rant because I had a visitor recently who was my age.  This person has also been a smoker as long as I have NOT.   My visitor thought my place was so beautiful (and likely wondered how I could afford such a place).  Well, my dear, I NEVER smoked.  I quickly did a calculation and figured that I had saved enough money from not smoking to pay for my home more than TWICE (1981 purchase price)!   Then I went on the American Cancer Society website and used their ‘cost of smoking’ calculator and discovered that I was wrong:  I could have paid for my house more than FOUR times over!  Or bought a Lamborghini !

Home

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Fred Schueler
    Nov 24, 2012 @ 00:07:26

    I watched the struggle as my father quit smoking when I was four – and that’s been enough of a lesson for 3 generations so far. Everytime I see someone smoke, I think “What was it in the 1963 Surgeon General’s report that wasn’t good enough for you?” or “Didn’t you have any parents?”

    Reply

    • grammomsblog
      Nov 24, 2012 @ 00:18:39

      Totally understood, Fred.
      And now with so much more information out there, why would anyone choose to smoke these days? Cigarettes should be outlawed and their makers held accountable for knowingly adding harmful chemicals which can lead to death or at the very least, addiction. And shame on our Government for profiting via taxes…..

      Reply

  2. thatoldschoolgirl
    Nov 24, 2012 @ 06:04:23

    I have to admit that I am one of those stinky smokers. One day I hope to be able to quit. At least I have not given up trying.

    On a side note, my mom has lung cancer yet she quit smoking close to 25 years ago. According to the doctors the smoking has nothing to do with her getting lung cancer.

    Reply

    • Rod Sinclair
      Nov 24, 2012 @ 07:44:59

      I smoked for 7 years and loved it. Lol. I quit on 26 Feb 1992, the day I returned from my first tour of duty. My ex hated the smell so I picked the day 3 months in advance and stuck to it. I quit cold turkey and didn’t find it that hard. Now I’m happy that I did.

      Reply

      • grammomsblog
        Nov 24, 2012 @ 11:31:30

        Rod, congratulations! Wow, cold turkey….. it’s good to hear that you didn’t find it too hard then and are now glad you did it.
        And many thanks for your years of service to our country too.

    • grammomsblog
      Nov 24, 2012 @ 11:28:45

      Well, thatoldschoolgirl, at least you have admitted that you are a smoker and haven’t given up trying to quit!
      Sorry to hear about your Mom’s lung cancer – it makes me wonder, though, whether smoking years ago or second hand smoke actually did play a part. Who knows…… my sincerest best wishes for her comfort today.

      Reply

  3. WildernessReturn
    Nov 24, 2012 @ 08:59:04

    I do not smoke either and hate the stench that is associated with it. Congratulations to you for not smoking as well.

    Reply

  4. Bet
    Nov 26, 2012 @ 10:43:14

    As an ex-smoker… I now abhor the smell of cigarette smoke… and can’t stand being around someone who stinks of it…. I honestly can’t believe that I smoked in my lifetime… and I’m really glad that I was the one who made you smoke a cigarette all those years ago… it’s one of my best-ever accomplishments!!…. Love you sista…. GREAT BLOG!!!

    Reply

  5. onestrangelifeblog
    Nov 28, 2012 @ 01:11:45

    I’m sorry you lost 2 people to cancer 😦 My uncle currently has terminal colon cancer and used to smoke. I have never smoked and I am horrified that both my kids do! They were around their dad the first 10/13 years of their life but I made him always go outside, My 23 yr old daughter has 2 or 3 a day but my 20 yr old son smokes more. He is now out in BC with his father who smokes still and gives him cigs! I have had to come to terms with the fact that I did nothing to cause them to start as a matter of fact the opposite and yet they still started. I have told them it’s not fair because guess who ends up having to take care of smokers as they die from it? You know too well as sadly you’ve been that person twice. I don’t want sick or dying kids.

    Reply

    • grammomsblog
      Nov 28, 2012 @ 10:02:24

      It’s good that you really understand that you are not responsible for your childrens’ smoking. As Mothers, we do the best we can and that’s it……
      Your comments are appreciated. Thank you.
      On a lighter note, thanks for Following my blog!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Where Meeples Meet

Games you'll want to play

Wilderness Return

My Wilderness Return Return to Nature, bushcraft, scrounge craft, writing

Off Grid and Free: My Path to the Wilderness

Practical advice for off-gridders, homesteaders, preppers. 37 years off-grid homesteading experience. Blog, videos, podcasts, book (print, ebook, audio)

Powell River Books Blog

Life, Family, Friends.....

The Radical Homemaker

Warning: Blending authenticity with joy may arouse contempt.

Mother Matters Burlington

Pregnancy, birth and postpartum support. Conscious parenting too!

B&H Your Community Grocer

Supporting Your Community Since 1963

Just another Day on the Farm

Living a step back in time

Natural Life Magazine's

green living blog by Editor Wendy Priesnitz

Vulnerable Watersheds

Life, Family, Friends.....

Pete's Alaska

Pete's Alaska — God, family, country my view out the cabin window.

Tiny House Ontario

To fill this life, with words, art, and maintain a lovely living forest.

Cam Mather

Books • Speaking • Consulting • etc.

Wuppenif

wuppenif...in other words, "what would happen if?"

Lactation Matters

The official blog of the International Lactation Consultant Association

