The Beatles!

I heard this month that it’s been 50 years since The Beatles released their first single record “Love Me Do”……… 50 years!!!  They were John Lennon, Paul McCartney, George Harrison, and Ringo Starr.   I have always been a HUGE Beatles fan – for their entire career and more.  I guess you could say that I caught the pandemic called Beatlemania!

I first saw The Beatles on TV’s The Jack Paar Show in 1964.  I was mesmerized by their ‘mop-top long’ haircuts and the music – rock and roll.  I watched them perform many times on the Ed Sullivan Show over the years too.  It was reported that in Britain, mobs of crying, screaming girls actually fainted at the sight of these 4 hunks.  A mysterious feeling had awakened within me and I started playing The Beatles music in my basement, even pantomiming with a fake guitar along with the music, just like I was on stage with them. lol   I knew EVERY word to EVERY song too…… maybe I still do.

Some of my Beatles Albums

The next summer, 1965, The Beatles toured North America and their one Canadian stop was Toronto’s Maple Leaf Gardens (we lived in nearby Hamilton).  I was going to be there!  I don’t remember the exact details, but I think my sister Betty bought a $4.00 ticket (yes you read that right, 4 bucks to see The Beatles) and then won a free ticket from a local radio station contest.  So my Mom said that I could go to the concert with the group from the radio station – I was 12 years old.  The Beatles played two shows that day on Tuesday, August 17, 1965  at Maple Leaf Gardens, 4 p.m. and 8:30 pm. – I attended the late show.   It was awesome!!  I screamed like a girl through the whole thing – just like the other 18,000 fans!   It was SO loud that nobody could actually hear them singing!  I truly believed that John Lennon waved to me way up in the Grey Section!  It was mayhem and mass hysteria, but that was Beatlemania……  it was awesome!!  They sang all my favourite songs like “Twist and Shout”,  “Ticket to Ride”, “A Hard Day’s Night”, “Can’t Buy Me Love”, and “Help”, among others.  I learned later that they actually only sang for less than an hour but it seems like an eternity.

After that concert, I started wearing a John Lennon cap that I bought downtown.  It was a black “Poorboy” style cap.  I thought I …….er, it was SO cool!  I played Beatle music whenever I wasn’t at school on my record player – we had ALL the albums and most single 45 records.  Sadly, I only have a few Beatles albums left.

The next year, The Beatles returned to Toronto on Wednesday, August 17, 1966 to play Maple Leaf Gardens.  My ticket cost $5.50 this time and I bought it myself.  I wasn’t going to take ANY chances that they would sell out of all 32,000 tickets (two shows).   Again, I screamed my way through the entire concert – thinking back now, what a dumb thing that was!  Why didn’t I just listen and enjoy the music?  It was the last time The Beatles ever played in Toronto before they broke up the band.  I think that my favourite Beatle was always John Lennon.  Paul had that infectious smile, George was shy, and Ringo was quirky, but John was amusing yet serious.

Original Ticket Stubs

I still have my original Beatles ticket stubs from those two concerts, framed and in a place of honour on my fireplace (along with my ticket stub from the Monkees concert).  Those early days of Rock ‘n Roll shaped my love of music for life.  When we drove to Florida last March, my son Melvin filled a little Mp3 player with ALL the Beatles songs to listen to.  My daughter Kristi and I had a ball belting out the tunes!  My sister Betty says that she still has her ‘Beatles Scrapbook’ from way back in the 60’s and even some of my old posters.

I was given a gift last Christmas by my two kids Nellie and Melvin – a coffee/tea mug with the infamous picture of The Beatles “Abby Road” album cover in a collectible Beatles Box……… my kids know me!

My Beatles Mug

I feel blessed that I witnessed with my own eyes,  the most influencial musical group in the history of music.   Yeah, Yeah,  Yeah, I love The Beatles!

 

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Betty
    Oct 17, 2012 @ 11:01:16

    OMG!!!.. I was just showing Rob my Beatles memorabillia last night!!… and YES… I do have your poster!!!… (and of course I have one too!!!) along with EVERY article that was ever written about the Beatles, and more posters… and cards… I too have a book that I bought at that very same concert in Maple Leaf Gardens… as well as a “Ringo” flag… although I did sell my concert ticket stubs for $500.00 on E-bay!!!… (but I did take a picture of them before I did that!!…LOL) … I also found a letter/essay that I wrote in September of 1965 of my account of that wonderful day!!!.. I was 14 years old!!!…. I really do have quite the incredible Beatles collection… and one day when you are out here in BC – we are going to sit down and look at it and reminisce BIG TIME!!!.. Love this blog sista…. Brings back a lot of many happy memories…. xo

    Reply

    • grammomsblog
      Oct 19, 2012 @ 15:59:00

      I can’t wait to look over the ‘Beatles Memorabilia’ with you next time Bet! It was such a great time in our lives….
      And, Sista………..ummmm, I think that Ringo flag is mine lol (used to hang up on my ‘picture/poster’ wall in our bedroom – on my side of the bed).
      I’m REALLY glad you are enjoying my blog too.

      Reply

  2. cecilia
    Oct 28, 2012 @ 10:04:59

    Good god, it sounds lucky you survived that hysteria or at the very least left profoundly deaf or with ringing in your ears.. kids nowadays forget how wild your generation was.. i am only a teensy bit younger than you but it was all washed up by the time I reached the age of choice or reason or whatever.. and My mother was deeply disapproving of short skirts and long hair, her mothers generation fought like crazy to get to cut her hair OFF! .. c

    Reply

  3. onestrangelifeblog
    Nov 27, 2012 @ 23:22:14

    I have a Yellow Submarine mug! George is my favourite. I remember where I was when John was shot (I was 12), seems so long ago but at the same time like only yesterday doesn’t it?

    Reply

    • grammomsblog
      Nov 27, 2012 @ 23:27:09

      Yes it does seem like just yesterday in a way……. John’s assassination was one of those events that you never forget exactly what you were doing when you heard the dreadful news.
      Thanks for reading my blog.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Off Grid and Free: My Path to the Wilderness

Practical advice for off-gridders, homesteaders, preppers. 37 years off-grid homesteading experience. Blog, videos, podcasts, book (print, ebook, audio)

Powell River Books Blog

Life, Family, Friends.....

The Radical Homemaker

Warning: Blending authenticity with joy may arouse contempt.

Mother Matters Burlington

Pregnancy, birth and postpartum support. Conscious parenting too!

B&H Your Community Grocer

Supporting Your Community Since 1963

Just another Day on the Farm

Living a step back in time

Natural Life Magazine's

green living blog by Editor Wendy Priesnitz

Vulnerable Watersheds

Life, Family, Friends.....

Pete's Alaska

Pete's Alaska — God, family, country my view out the cabin window.

Supporting Breastfeeding

La Leche League Canada

Tiny House Ontario

To fill this life, with words, art, and maintain a lovely living forest.

Life, Family, Friends.....

Cam Mather

Books • Speaking • Consulting • etc.

Wuppenif

wuppenif...in other words, "what would happen if?"

Lactation Matters

The official blog of the International Lactation Consultant Association

thekitchensgarden

farming, gardens, cows, goats, chickens, food, organic, sustainable, photography,

