Book Fair!

Well it’s finally here:  our local Book Fair!  I’ve been anticipating the book fair for a few months now and I arrived at 3 p.m. sharp when it opened on Friday afternoon.  Last year I bought a whole canvas bag full of books, many of which I haven’t finished reading yet.  But they will be read by me or borrowed by my grown kids.  I like to browse through the Gardening section first, then the Nature, Crafts, Reference, ‘Self Help’, and  DVDs.  I’m not interested in Romance or Fiction, which seem to have thousands and thousands of books on several very long tables.  I’m always on the lookout for classic out of print books that I love or first editions.  For instance, a few years ago, I snagged copies of Scott and Helen Nearing’s Living the Good Life AND The Maple Sugar Book –  both out of print and rare.  I’ve also found a copy of Bubel’s Root Cellaring and even though I already had one that I hold near and dear to my heart, I can now lend out my extra book.

Two of my favourite books

I got a blank garden planner as well, just waiting for me to begin filling it out next year so I don’t have to cram my notes in one of my other books.  Other books I bought include:

Five Acres and Independence by M.G. Kains

The Amazing Results of Positive Thinking by Norman Vincent Peale

The Sierra Club Wilderness Handbook

National Geographic Field Guide to the Birds of North America

The Place in the Forest by R.D. Lawrence

Field Guide to North American Mushrooms by The Audubon Society

An Ecology of Enchantment, A Year in a Country Garden by Des Kennedy

Heading Home by Lawrence Scanlan

Rocky Mountain Nature Guide

Wilderness Seasons, Life and Adventure in Canada’s North by Wilson

Haley’s Cleaning Hints

Tundra by Farley Mowat

The Call of the Wild by Jack London

Two Acre Eden by Gene Logsdon

The Rideau Navigator by Doug Gray

Vegetable Favourites by Lois Hole

The Secret by Rhonda Byrne

Let It Rot by Stu Campbell

Raising Poultry the Modern Way by L.S. Mercier

Mushrooms of Ontario and Eastern Canada by G. Barron

Official Wilderness First Aid Guide by St. John Ambulance (W. Merry)

The Art of Soapmaking, a Harrowsmith Contemporary Primer by M. Mohr

BFF – Book Fair Finds

Many of these books are for actual reference/knowledge/further education but others are strictly for my reading pleasure.

I love books, I really do LOVE books, as I’ve written in a previous post.( I Love Books, Books, and more Books! )

Book Fairs are an awesome event!  It’s really a win-win situation:  buyers get loads of books they want to read and the sellers raise money for charity (Community Living Association and Friends of the Library).  For $1.00 each!  A buck!  And if you go Saturday morning, the books are 4 for $1.00 and after lunch, you can get a whole bag full for just a buck!   It’s cheaper than going to the movies (not that I ever do, but whatever) and  will last a heck of alot longer.   I’ll have some pretty sweet reading this winter…….

Who wouldn`t want to buy books at a book fair ?!

Books and more Books

 

Leave a Reply

Where Meeples Meet

Games you'll want to play

Wilderness Return

My Wilderness Return Return to Nature, bushcraft, scrounge craft, writing

Off Grid and Free: My Path to the Wilderness

Practical advice for off-gridders, homesteaders, preppers. 37 years off-grid homesteading experience. Blog, videos, podcasts, book (print, ebook, audio)

Powell River Books Blog

Life, Family, Friends.....

The Radical Homemaker

Warning: Blending authenticity with joy may arouse contempt.

Mother Matters Burlington

Pregnancy, birth and postpartum support. Conscious parenting too!

B&H Your Community Grocer

Supporting Your Community Since 1963

Just another Day on the Farm

Living a step back in time

Natural Life Magazine's

green living blog by Editor Wendy Priesnitz

Vulnerable Watersheds

Life, Family, Friends.....

Pete's Alaska

Pete's Alaska — God, family, country my view out the cabin window.

Tiny House Ontario

To fill this life, with words, art, and maintain a lovely living forest.

Cam Mather

Books • Speaking • Consulting • etc.

Wuppenif

wuppenif...in other words, "what would happen if?"

Lactation Matters

The official blog of the International Lactation Consultant Association

