Fall

Maple Leaves

Ahhh, Fall………. it’s been ‘raining’ leaves this week and I love it!  While walking down the road I can see all colours on the palette:   crimson red,  yellow ochre, burnt orange , all fluttering down from the trees.  The colour of the leaves is really spectacular this year – the reds are redder, the oranges are oranger, and the yellows are yellower.  I think the oldtimers say that this means that we are in for alot of snow this winter (which wouldn’t surprise me since we got off so easy last winter).  On the ground, ferns are turning from green, to pale lime, to pastel yellow, to brown………..  In the woods, I can see right through the bushes and trees along the edge to the mounting volume of leaves piling up on the forest floor.  Today I can see alot more sky beyond the maple trees outside my back windows……….. ahhhh, Fall is here.

Miscanthus Giganteus

And there is more urgent business in the wild animals:  just after supper the other evening, I was walking the dog and the neighbourhood fox ran leisurely across the road about 150′ in front of me.   A walked further and saw its mate at the edge of the woods, playfully waiting.  The squirrels are busily collecting up all the windfall apples around the house, munching a bit and storing them…………somewhere.  This week I saw lots and lots of Canada Geese flying overhead, making their way south for the winter.  And in the last week, I’ve seen 2 garter snakes in my back yard – amazing since I’ve only seen one in the 31 years before that.

Koi & Goldfish

Now that fall is here, I have the annual chore of bringing in the large pond fish.  I have to stand on the edge and scoop/trap them with nets, trying not to lose my balance and fall in.   I have a 150 gallon agricultural ‘water trough’ in my coldroom where I keep the fish over the winter.  My biggest pond fish is a 10+ pound, 15 inch Koi that we’ve had for about 8 years.  Surprisingly, I caught him on the first day!  Catching these fish in my 4,500 gallon pond is no easy feat, but I tell myself (and the fish) that I am the smarter species and they are lower in the food chain, so I WILL outsmart them……. eventually.  In addition to the Koi, I netted the two remaining ‘senior’ goldfish (5 yrs old) – the great blue heron got the other 8 seniors in the spring.  I also managed to net 5 ‘yearling’ goldfish that are 1 year old (including my two granddaughters new goldfish)-  but I still have 2 more .  I always set out the minnow trap to capture as many babies or fry that I can.  I have no idea how many there are in the pond as dozens are born every year …….  I am slowly getting through my Fall List.  It’s really comforting when I can cross off  another item.  But I still have a number of things that are still outstanding, like ordering my wood pellets for the pellet stove, ordering more firewood (I have a few years worth already but I’d like to still have a bit more since I neglected to order some in the spring), cleaning my pellet stove chimney (and Darin’s going to sweep my wood cookstove chimney next weekend, I hope), clean the soot/ash out of my cookstove, drain my rain barrels and turn them upside down, clean up the garage (I’ve been saying THAT for 4 years now lol), dig/dry my canna lily bulbs, clean out the evestroughs, yada,yada,yada……..

A Stroll in the Woods

Now that it’s Friday evening of the Thanksgiving weekend, I can sit and reflect upon life……… The family will be gathering here on Sunday for turkey dinner and all the trimmings as well as celebrating my granddaughter Livi’s 7th birthday.  HAPPY THANKSGIVING EVERYONE!

Sunrise

 

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Maureen Sinclair
    Oct 05, 2012 @ 21:37:48

    Always nice reading Linda, I really enjoy it. Always lots to do in the fall. It;s a pretty time of year, I love Fall colors. Happy Thanksgiving to you & your family. Take care my dear.
    Hugs: Maureen

    Reply

  2. Fred Schueler
    Oct 05, 2012 @ 23:18:17

    I suppose your autumn colours are subsidized by water from the Rideau – here on the limestone plain, where the drought was hardest, they’re subdued – the Sugar Maples have a pastel cast, and a lot of the Ashes and Red Maples lost leaves before they turned. But up around Lake Nipissing and Sudbury, the colours, especially of the Red Maples, were the brightest Aleta or i have ever seen, really retina warping, and to the old refrain “If i painted that nobody would believe it.”

    Reply

  3. Betty
    Oct 06, 2012 @ 01:26:41

    I’m exhausted reading all that you have to do!!!.. I think I’ll stick to my 400 sq. foot little abode… with my tiny little garden… Perhaps when I retire I’ll think about doing more… but then I think I’ll just travel… go see my sisters… maybe to the Gaspe coast…and to somewhere hot and sunny EVERY winter!!… There now – I’ve got my retirement all planned!!!

    Reply

  4. Betty
    Oct 06, 2012 @ 01:30:27

    And… my sisters can travel to see me every year too!!… perhaps even twice a year!! By then – you can hire someone to do all your yard work, gardening and chores for you!!!… Love reading your blogs Lin… They are so detailed and very well written… So enjoyable… Luv u…xo

    Reply

  5. df
    Oct 10, 2012 @ 20:55:37

    I can see we have the same things on our mind at the moment, and I loved your reflections on the coming of winter. So much to do, but so much to enjoy about this time of year as well.

    Reply

    • grammomsblog
      Oct 11, 2012 @ 17:04:30

      Absolutely! The days have been mild and the colours wonderful………..and many leaves to play in! But the coming winter is always on my mind.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Off Grid and Free: My Path to the Wilderness

Practical advice for off-gridders, homesteaders, preppers. 37 years off-grid homesteading experience. Blog, videos, podcasts, book (print, ebook, audio)

Powell River Books Blog

Life, Family, Friends.....

The Radical Homemaker

Warning: Blending authenticity with joy may arouse contempt.

Mother Matters Burlington

Pregnancy, birth and postpartum support. Conscious parenting too!

B&H Your Community Grocer

Supporting Your Community Since 1963

Just another Day on the Farm

Living a step back in time

Natural Life Magazine's

green living blog by Editor Wendy Priesnitz

Vulnerable Watersheds

Life, Family, Friends.....

Pete's Alaska

Pete's Alaska — God, family, country my view out the cabin window.

Supporting Breastfeeding

La Leche League Canada

Tiny House Ontario

To fill this life, with words, art, and maintain a lovely living forest.

Life, Family, Friends.....

Cam Mather

Books • Speaking • Consulting • etc.

Wuppenif

wuppenif...in other words, "what would happen if?"

Lactation Matters

The official blog of the International Lactation Consultant Association

thekitchensgarden

farming, gardens, cows, goats, chickens, food, organic, sustainable, photography,

