Instant Messaging

I have to admit, I love ‘instant messaging’ with my family whether it be by Windows Live Messenger (MSN), Facebook, or texting.  I think that’s it’s quite amazing that I can ‘talk’ to my family who are across the country in British Columbia, across the planet in Bali, or in their own bedrooms inside the house.

British Columbia ‘Sistas’ -Linda, Sylvia, Betty, & Faye

For instance, my son Marty and his partner Jeanette  just moved to Bali, Indonesia and are travelling around.  It’s great to be able to talk to him and hear about his adventures via Messenger or Facebook.  Most of the guest houses that they stay in have internet so they can update family about their travels.   Last time he was in China teaching English, the telephone connection was unreliable and unclear, but we were able to Skype live between our home in Eastern Ontario Canada and Eastern China or talk/write in ‘real time’ via MSN!  We got a tour of their apartment via webcam and a view of the city from their apartment.   Just this morning, Marty posted his latest story in his Travel Journal “Returning to Nomadism” @ http://nomadicjournals.blogspot.ca/   and I received it instantly – from across the world!  Am I ‘old school’ or what – I am still amazed by the internet? ! lol

It’s convenient too.  I can always get ahold of my son Darin who is working in Ottawa.  And my daughter Kristi can be reached via text to her phone no matter where she happens to be at work.  I can let my kids at home know when I’m leaving to pick them up or text them when I get there.  I often talk to my sister Betty from Vancouver Island, BC on MSN……. in fact, we hardly use our home ‘land line’ at all anymore, except when we long to hear each other’s voice!  But Skype or MSN can take care of that with their live video feed.

I don’t feel that it’s an invasion of my privacy since I can control whether I choose to talk to anyone at any time.  I can adjust my ‘settings’ or who I wish to receive messages from……. I am quite comfortable with these options.

And as a Mom, I love it that I don’t have to yell at the top of my lungs anymore that “Supper’s Ready!!!” – I can just quietly text if I want to……lol.  I bet if my old neighbour, Ronny, was still living here, he’d love not hearing me yell, so that everyone with a mile would know that supper was ready at my house!

August Wedding – Family ties

So, ya, count me in – I love Instant Messaging!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Betty
    Sep 05, 2012 @ 16:19:09

    ME TOO!!!….

    Reply

  2. Betty
    Sep 05, 2012 @ 23:37:53

    I gotta say “I would die without my computer”…. (from an old commercial on TV)!!…LOL… Just kidding…. BUT ALMOST!!… and I LOVE IMing with you too!!!

    Reply

  3. Rob
    Sep 06, 2012 @ 06:26:32

    Just sayin ! What the heck ?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Off Grid and Free: My Path to the Wilderness

Practical advice for off-gridders, homesteaders, preppers. 37 years off-grid homesteading experience. Blog, videos, podcasts, book (print, ebook, audio)

Powell River Books Blog

Life, Family, Friends.....

The Radical Homemaker

Warning: Blending authenticity with joy may arouse contempt.

Mother Matters Burlington

Pregnancy, birth and postpartum support. Conscious parenting too!

B&H Your Community Grocer

Supporting Your Community Since 1963

Just another Day on the Farm

Living a step back in time

Natural Life Magazine's

green living blog by Editor Wendy Priesnitz

Vulnerable Watersheds

Life, Family, Friends.....

Pete's Alaska

Pete's Alaska — God, family, country my view out the cabin window.

Supporting Breastfeeding

La Leche League Canada

Tiny House Ontario

To fill this life, with words, art, and maintain a lovely living forest.

Life, Family, Friends.....

Cam Mather

Books • Speaking • Consulting • etc.

Wuppenif

wuppenif...in other words, "what would happen if?"

Lactation Matters

The official blog of the International Lactation Consultant Association

thekitchensgarden

farming, gardens, cows, goats, chickens, food, organic, sustainable, photography,

