First Tomato!

Well it finally happened:  the first tomato was ripe and ready in my garden today!  I think this is the longest I’ve ever had to wait for a tomato…..

I got two of these tomato plants at the local EcoFair in April, grown by the volunteers at the ‘Giving Garden’ (a garden area on the outside of town that anyone can grow/take from).

Fresh Tomato Sandwich

So one of the first things I did when I spied this red sphere buried inside my tomato plant, was to just touch it!  It was a fairly small tomato, but big enough for what I had planned.  I carefully released it from its mother plant, then brushed the ‘dust’ off it.

When I got into the house, I put two pieces of whole wheat bread into the toaster.  Usually I do it the other way around when I know there are tomatoes ripe in the garden:  Toast in first, then run to the garden for a tomato.  By the time I get back to the house with the sun-warmed tomato, the toaster has popped.  I spread a generous amount of mayonnaise on my toast then sliced up the entire tomato onto it, sprinkled sea salt, then freshly ground pepper.  My mouth was literally watering by then!  Oh that first bite:  the tomato was sweet yet tangy and SO fresh!  There’s really nothing like it!

Toasted Tomato Sandwich
Yummmm!

I anticipate this moment from the last tomato of the season, through the winter, spring, and summer just waiting for the first tomato.

And it was worth the wait…..

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Betty
    Aug 16, 2012 @ 19:40:50

    Like I said on Facebook for the whole world to see… “I’m jealous”… “I want a home-grown tomato”!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Off Grid and Free: My Path to the Wilderness

Practical advice for off-gridders, homesteaders, preppers. 37 years off-grid homesteading experience. Blog, videos, podcasts, book (print, ebook, audio)

Powell River Books Blog

Life, Family, Friends.....

The Radical Homemaker

Warning: Blending authenticity with joy may arouse contempt.

Mother Matters Burlington

Pregnancy, birth and postpartum support. Conscious parenting too!

B&H Your Community Grocer

Supporting Your Community Since 1963

Just another Day on the Farm

Living a step back in time

Natural Life Magazine's

green living blog by Editor Wendy Priesnitz

Vulnerable Watersheds

Life, Family, Friends.....

Pete's Alaska

Pete's Alaska — God, family, country my view out the cabin window.

Supporting Breastfeeding

La Leche League Canada

Tiny House Ontario

To fill this life, with words, art, and maintain a lovely living forest.

Cam Mather

Books • Speaking • Consulting • etc.

Wuppenif

wuppenif...in other words, "what would happen if?"

Lactation Matters

The official blog of the International Lactation Consultant Association

thekitchensgarden

farming, gardens, cows, goats, chickens, food, organic, sustainable, photography,

