I’m on Vacation!

Yes I’m on Vacation…….  sort of!   Well actually, it’s a ‘Stay-cation’.   Both my stay-at-home children, are off this weekend to Toronto and I get to stay here at home with the cat and dog, on vacation.  Oh don’t feel sorry for me…… I’m actually enjoying quality time with myself.

Perce, Quebec - NOT vacationing here

Perce Quebec – NOT vacationing here this time

This weekend, it’s all about ME!  I get to do whatever I want, whenever I want, how I want.   No driving long distances or flying across the country; no whale watching or beach combing or visiting relatives or smelling the awesome ocean air…..nope, none of that.   Sooooo….. I’ve so far, eaten my usual breakfast, taken out the garbage, checked my email…. ho humm.   I have no REAL plans.  But that’s the beauty! 

I think it’s going to be very hot today:  33 degrees celsius is what I heard.   I might wait till tomorrow to plant more potatoes, IF I feel like it.

I just got in from the garden, checking on things there and in the pond.  Everything looks good except for one zucchini plant that looks like a cutworm got it.  So I’ll go out with some seeds after and replant….maybe, if I feel like it.    Awe heck, who needs TWO zucchini plants anyway!    Well okay, I do.

You see, I’ve already started talking to myself!  And worse, answering myself…..

It’s SO quiet here, I can hear the birds singing.  Listening, I can pick out which bird it is – a Robin right now, and previously “Ballistic” the woodpecker who loves to hammer on metal roofs like mine.

Sitting here writing, I can see hundreds of ‘helicopters’ a.k.a. maple tree ‘keys’ (seeds) cascading down when the wind blows……….  AAAAhhhhh.

Kitten Sleeping, again

Kitten sleeping, again

Saturday afternoon:   I slept in this morning.   It’s a real treat since I usually  get up at 6 a.m……  but this morning just after 7:30, the cat thought “enough is enough!”  and started meowing pitifully for me to get up and keep him company……….while he slept.  After breakfast, I hung out two loads of laundry before I headed out to go to some garage sales.  I found a few useful things, but nothing spectacular this weekend.

It’s almost 2 p.m now and I still haven’t had lunch yet!  After I got home around noon, I had a glass of milk and the last two of Nellie’s homemade sugar cookies because I remembered I could do that while on stay-cation.  I’ll make an egg salad sandwich on whole wheat bread in a few moments, honest!

Later this afternoon, I’ll go over to my good friends, Della and Ron, for our usual Saturday night supper and cards.  We’re usually yawning by 7:30 p.m. so I’ll be home by 8 for sure.  Likely, I’ll fall asleep while reading by 9……

I don’t have any plans for tomorrow – my last day of Stay-cation.  I’m sure I’ll be out in the garden simply out of guilt for goofing off for a  few days.  But one thing’s for sure, I don’t have to drive any long distance home, all tired and needing a vacation, after THIS Stay-cation!

Boy, you can REALLY tell that I’m on Stay-cation, since it’s taken me TWO days to write this little post!

Home, my Stay-cation Retreat

Home, my Stay-cation Retreat

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Just another day on the farm
    May 31, 2012 @ 12:08:49

    I am catching up on posts and I really like this one.. I hear you, I love our stay-cation on the farm, can’t say that we are quite as easy going as you sound 😛 but we get our fun time in that’s for sure..

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Off Grid and Free: My Path to the Wilderness

Practical advice for off-gridders, homesteaders, preppers. 37 years off-grid homesteading experience. Blog, videos, podcasts, book (print, ebook, audio)

Powell River Books Blog

Life, Family, Friends.....

The Radical Homemaker

Warning: Blending authenticity with joy may arouse contempt.

Mother Matters Burlington

Pregnancy, birth and postpartum support. Conscious parenting too!

B&H Your Community Grocer

Supporting Your Community Since 1963

Just another Day on the Farm

Living a step back in time

Natural Life Magazine's

green living blog by Editor Wendy Priesnitz

Vulnerable Watersheds

Life, Family, Friends.....

Pete's Alaska

Pete's Alaska — God, family, country my view out the cabin window.

Supporting Breastfeeding

La Leche League Canada

Tiny House Ontario

To fill this life, with words, art, and maintain a lovely living forest.

Cam Mather

Books • Speaking • Consulting • etc.

Wuppenif

wuppenif...in other words, "what would happen if?"

Lactation Matters

The official blog of the International Lactation Consultant Association

thekitchensgarden

farming, gardens, cows, goats, chickens, food, organic, sustainable, photography,

