It’s Garden Time Again

Life has suddenly gotten quite busy!  With the temperatures more seasonal and a sufficient amount of rain, my outdoors workload had skyrocketed!  I think I can actually see the grass growing and the ostrich ferns around the pond have grown 1-1/2 feet in a week.  Whew!   Some days I’m torn between maintaining the perennial flower beds (weeding) or planting seeds or transplanting started plants into my vegetable garden……or just nursing my aching joints and muscles.

Last Friday, I edged the vegetable garden to make a defined separation between the grass and the garden……something that I’ve been meaning to do for 5 years!  Every spring, it never got done and then the veggies grew and obliterated the lawn/garden lines.  I was quite gratified to accomplish this task even though I paid the price with lots of lower back pain and muscle aches ……

Started seeds in Warming Rack

 

Started plants

It seems like forever ago (early April) that I started some seeds inside – I placed the containers in the warming oven of my cook stove since it was SO cold outside that I had a fire going most days.

 

On the weekend, I took out my started tomato, pepper, and zucchini plants to ‘harden off’.  I’ll get them in the ground this morning as it’s supposed to cloud over and possibly rain for a few days.  I don’t like planting my tender veggies if it’s going to be quite warm and sunny since the shock is sometimes too much for them and stunts their transition from inside the cozy house to outside in the garden.   I can always add another section to my raised beds and top it with an old storm window for protection if the weather turns cool.  With Melvin’s help on Mothers’ Day, I planted my acorn squash in the compost and Melvin planted 4 boxes of my stored Canna Lillies, under my direction.

 

Hardening Off

 

Cold Frame Lettuce

I noticed alot of poppies coming up in my un-tilled garden, so I moved some of them all together to one of my blueberry beds.  And tons of dill sprouting in their usual spot – I love the smell of dill and often use it in my salads.  Speaking of salads, we’ve been eating the ‘cold frame’ lettuce for a couple of weeks now and the new seeds I planted a few weeks ago are up and growing.  It’s difficult to plant small seeds in my garden this early because a snapping turtle (50+ years old looking) always comes into my garden to lay its eggs in early June.  I must respect this creature as I realize that it has been laying its eggs here, likely in the same spot, for more decades that I’ve been living here – so I concede its seniority.

In the garage, in front of the window, I have a few baskets full of potatoes to be planted – these were the small spuds left over from last summer and stored in my cold ‘space’ in the mudroom.  They already have new growth almost a foot long stretching and begging to be planted………I’ll get to them this week too.

Oh I know, this hectic pace will die down again next month and I won’t be SO busy.  But certain things HAVE to be done NOW.

And this morning I realized that I HAD to get my car’s E-test (emissions) so I could renew my license sticker this week, so add that to my Must Do list…

Sunrise – time to enjoy

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Iona
    May 15, 2012 @ 10:16:40

    Nice….

    Reply

  2. grammomsblog
    May 15, 2012 @ 15:53:17

    Thanks Sista!

    Reply

  3. thebeadden
    May 16, 2012 @ 11:15:08

    Love your stove! Good luck with your gardens.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Off Grid and Free: My Path to the Wilderness

Practical advice for off-gridders, homesteaders, preppers. 37 years off-grid homesteading experience. Blog, videos, podcasts, book (print, ebook, audio)

Powell River Books Blog

Life, Family, Friends.....

The Radical Homemaker

Warning: Blending authenticity with joy may arouse contempt.

Mother Matters Burlington

Pregnancy, birth and postpartum support. Conscious parenting too!

B&H Your Community Grocer

Supporting Your Community Since 1963

Just another Day on the Farm

Living a step back in time

Natural Life Magazine's

green living blog by Editor Wendy Priesnitz

Vulnerable Watersheds

Life, Family, Friends.....

Pete's Alaska

Pete's Alaska — God, family, country my view out the cabin window.

Supporting Breastfeeding

La Leche League Canada

Tiny House Ontario

To fill this life, with words, art, and maintain a lovely living forest.

Cam Mather

Books • Speaking • Consulting • etc.

Wuppenif

wuppenif...in other words, "what would happen if?"

Lactation Matters

The official blog of the International Lactation Consultant Association

thekitchensgarden

farming, gardens, cows, goats, chickens, food, organic, sustainable, photography,

