Battle of the Attic

I’m sitting here in the middle of a war zone……well not really an actual War Zone.  But I’ve been trying to figure out what kind of war is happening this morning up in my attic.

 

Snow April 23rd

Early this morning at daybreak, I heard some faint noise and thought maybe it was the wet snow dripping off the roof…..overnight the rain changed to snow and so far we’ve accumulated a few centimeters of wet, heavy, slushy snow.  Then just after 7 a.m. I began to hear children running around upstairs……except I live in a bungalow and don’t have an upstairs AND my children are mostly grown up!!  Our cat kept running from place to place, looking for something.    Well now, in the last few minutes, this ‘faint’ noise has turned to all out war in my attic!  I expect it’s squirrels fighting for territory – I’ve had squirrels in the attic before.  I’ll have to take a walk around outside and look up to the roof and try to see any little footprints in the snow leading to any small crack in the soffit or siding that they could get in….. 

Okay, I’m back inside now after taking a walk around the house to look for ‘squirrel doors’.  Unfortunately I didn’t see any little footprints in the snow on the roof, but my eyesight is not the best anyway so there could be some there but I just can’t see any from 25 feet away.  I did notice a crack beside the brick chimney that a squirrel might be able to fit through…..

Everywhere I went outside, I kept getting struck by ‘blobs’ of wet heavy snow falling off the trees or house –  SPLAT !  it would land on my hat.  I decided to unhook my Pond rain barrel hose since  the pond is almost overflowing, and just let the melting snow and rain, water my shade garden.  I took a few pictures of the snow on some of my plants.

Poor tulips

The poor tulips are laden with heavy snow, but were smart enough to close up their flowers.

Fiddlehead wants to Curl up

 

 

Little fern fiddleheads looked like they just wanted to retract and curl up again to get away from the snow.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Up at my kitchen garden, the lettuce was well protected and snuggy under the glass storm window.

Lettuce in Cold Frame

 

Before I came in, I decided to empty one of my overflowing rain barrels beside the woodshed since there’s nothing to water with it anytime soon.  Then I saw my wheelbarrow full of Miscanthus ornamental grasses that I forgot to replant last week.  Oops!

Now that I’ve been inside typing for a few minutes, my fingers have finally thawed out…..silly me, I forgot to wear gloves outside and it was bloody cold!  All the while, the squirrels in the attic are still having their battle and the poor cat is still trying to figure it all out.  I know I’ll have to get them out of there really soon since they can be SO destructive and will be having their babies imminently.  WOW what a battle thought…….running back and forth, body-slam WWF style!

And I hate to think of what they are doing to my insulation…..

Marsh Marigold @ Pond

 

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Just another day on the farm
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 08:53:03

    WWF style, ah that is cute but I hear you, not good thing, I took photo of things in the garden covered in snow as well, and peeked at the temps in the cold frames,everything is holding just fine.. Good luck on your little strompers and getting them out!

    Reply

  2. Jacklyn Szabo
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 08:59:06

    I really wanted to see pictures of these squirrels! Ours are crazy too! Broke into our home 3 times now! :p

    Reply

  3. Jacklyn Szabo
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 10:45:57

    crazy! Apparently we’re suppose to get wet snow and rain…I remember having a snow storm in April….so who knows where this weather is taking us! 😛

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Off Grid and Free: My Path to the Wilderness

Practical advice for off-gridders, homesteaders, preppers. 37 years off-grid homesteading experience. Blog, videos, podcasts, book (print, ebook, audio)

Powell River Books Blog

Life, Family, Friends.....

The Radical Homemaker

Warning: Blending authenticity with joy may arouse contempt.

Mother Matters Burlington

Pregnancy, birth and postpartum support. Conscious parenting too!

B&H Your Community Grocer

Supporting Your Community Since 1963

Just another Day on the Farm

Living a step back in time

Natural Life Magazine's

green living blog by Editor Wendy Priesnitz

Vulnerable Watersheds

Life, Family, Friends.....

Pete's Alaska

Pete's Alaska — God, family, country my view out the cabin window.

Supporting Breastfeeding

La Leche League Canada

Tiny House Ontario

To fill this life, with words, art, and maintain a lovely living forest.

Cam Mather

Books • Speaking • Consulting • etc.

Wuppenif

wuppenif...in other words, "what would happen if?"

Lactation Matters

The official blog of the International Lactation Consultant Association

thekitchensgarden

farming, gardens, cows, goats, chickens, food, organic, sustainable, photography,

