Lists

Lists.  I have lists for everything! Hard copy paper lists.  I buy a 5 pack of list pads from the dollarstore which lasts me about a year.  Of course I have an ongoing shopping list right here beside me, handy to add anything immediately, that I can think of for my next trip into town….   And each store has its own page.  I have a lists on my fridge including dates of the Stanley Cup playoffs, emergency contact numbers (for my kids),  my daughter Kristi’s contacts list……..those lists might be abit hard to find amongst the drawings by my children and grandchildren (from DNA to dinosaurs).  I have garden lists this time of year holding the names of veggies I am planning on growing in my garden including rough sketches.  I have a ‘gardening journal’ where I keep a record of my gardens, weather, temperatures, and outcomes, every year.  In the back of this Journal, I have…..lists:  lists of the names of Pond plants, Shade plants, Hot-Dry-Sunny plants, Wet loving plants, Veggies to look for, Garden ‘Recipes’,  etc.

I have an entire book of lists of family and friends names, addresses, phone numbers, and email accounts – after all, what would happen if my computer ever crashed and I lost all this information!  And I have a very special list called ‘the very important paper under the keyboard’ which was my original list of internet/email account names!

I’ve had one list for decades:  it’s my ‘Wish List’ which includes things like an Excalibur Dehydrator,  Berkshire Water Filter, and Solar Panels, the higher ticket items…..  I think that list is just in my head now.

New Raspberry bed

New Raspberry Bed

This year for the first time, I DON’T have an outside “to do” list.  I seemed to fret over this list, usually at night when I can’t do anything outside anyway.  So this year I decided to just forget the list and DO IT!  Every spring, there’s a number of things that have to get done outside anyway, like leaves, the pond, cutting down ornamental grasses, or taking down driveway markers.   So with that in mind, I’m just plugging away this year at those tasks plus any others that I’ve wanted to accomplish this year like planting more raspberries (check) and digging out variegated goutweed from my shade garden and planting it in my front ditch (in process).

I actually feel more mello and calmer…..  I see that I’ve already scooped leaves from the pond,  removed the leaf net, and added 21 fish that were overwintering in my coldroom;   set up my rain barrel hose to empty into the pond;  set up one of my rain barrels (it’s already full after one rain storm);   planted a dozen new raspberries in their new bed, mulched them with leaves and held those down with sticks that I picked up from all over the yard…… Yup, I’m feeling pretty accomplished!  I have to keep reminding myself that it’s not quite the middle of April yet.

However, I must remained focused without a written list because it’s very easy to get distracted:  it’s tempting to try to do another job when I’m walking by, even though I’m in the middle of one.  I just keep reminding myself:  “focus, focus,  you’ll get to that….”  So far it’s worked!

I think that Lists run in the family:  I know my sister Betty is a list person and my daughter Nellie asked me for one of my list pads so she could start her own list.

……..now, where is that list pad again.  I have to write something down…….

 

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Maureen Sinclair
    Apr 14, 2012 @ 15:53:33

    What would we do without our lists.Enjoyable read as always cousin Linda.

    Reply

  2. Iona
    Apr 14, 2012 @ 16:14:25

    YES…. I too hold the title of “List Queen”… but I can assure you – my list isn’t as full as my sister’s!!! I’m exhausted just reading hers!!…LOL

    Reply

  3. Jacklyn Szabo
    Apr 14, 2012 @ 17:09:07

    😛 I’m a list person too lol Helps keep me organized and focused. Though I still manage to walk by something and grab it, thinking I’ll get to it rightttt after I’m done this one thing. List are good…I like to use a pretty book so I enjoy writing everything down 🙂 and making check marks 😀 …wow…I don’t know if I’m overboard on the whole list thing now that I’m sharing…anywho..here’s to list, making them and keeping them!

    Reply

  4. ceciliag
    Apr 18, 2012 @ 10:37:45

    Good morning, popped over to welcome you to the farmy! and here you are talking about my favourite pages,, LISTS! I also love them, it clears my muddled mind, and i really should make a list for today, over my morning coffee.. have a great day, your raspberries are going to be a treat! c

    Reply

  5. grammomsblog
    Apr 27, 2012 @ 13:48:38

    Well, I’m relieved to know that I’m not the only one crazy about my lists! Thanks for sharing everyone!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Off Grid and Free: My Path to the Wilderness

Practical advice for off-gridders, homesteaders, preppers. 37 years off-grid homesteading experience. Blog, videos, podcasts, book (print, ebook, audio)

Powell River Books Blog

Life, Family, Friends.....

The Radical Homemaker

Warning: Blending authenticity with joy may arouse contempt.

Mother Matters Burlington

Pregnancy, birth and postpartum support. Conscious parenting too!

B&H Your Community Grocer

Supporting Your Community Since 1963

Just another Day on the Farm

Living a step back in time

Natural Life Magazine's

green living blog by Editor Wendy Priesnitz

Vulnerable Watersheds

Life, Family, Friends.....

Pete's Alaska

Pete's Alaska — God, family, country my view out the cabin window.

Supporting Breastfeeding

La Leche League Canada

Tiny House Ontario

To fill this life, with words, art, and maintain a lovely living forest.

Cam Mather

Books • Speaking • Consulting • etc.

Wuppenif

wuppenif...in other words, "what would happen if?"

Lactation Matters

The official blog of the International Lactation Consultant Association

thekitchensgarden

farming, gardens, cows, goats, chickens, food, organic, sustainable, photography,

