Live Every Day like Earth Day

*

Compact Fluorescent Lightbulb

Today we celebrate Earth Hour…..lately the trend is for everyone to turn off their lights for Earth Hour, for one hour at 8 p.m.    An organizer interviewed, suggested that families could play games in the dark with their little children, like hide and seek with flashlights.

Okay, I’m going to make my statement:  Earth Hour is a crock……turning off your lights and perhaps playing a (possibly dangerous) game in the dark or by candlelight is crazy to me.   However, the concept of Earth Day has its merits.  Society is more aware, I hope, of our planet and its fragility.   The originators of Earth Day envisioned an aware population who would make the world a better place.  Unfortunately, that hasn’t happened.  Instead, people have utilized MORE oil, electricity, water, and non-renewable resources.  It makes no sense to me, to turn off your lights for one lousy hour, then hop in your gas-guzzling SUV the next day like nothing is different.

I try to live each day like it is Earth Day.  I heat my home with carbon-neutral wood instead of polluting natural gas, propane, or oil.  I recycle daily, compost, and re-use items. I respectfully use only as much water as I need.  I started with simple things:  I replaced all my light bulbs with energy-efficient Compact Fluorescent lightbulbs.  I gave away my ancient inefficient freezer in the garage.  And I have unplugged my second fridge in the garage though I can still use it for storage in the summer or cold stuff in the winter.  Also, I put power bars on all my plug-in stuff so it can be turned off when not in use and reduce my ‘phantom power load’.  Then I began replacing old appliances with Energy Star ones, like my fridge and clothes washer (which uses 1/5th less pumped well water as well).  I installed a Solar Hot Water system to heat my water rather than electrically.  About 10 years ago, when electricity rates were about 2 cents a kwh, our electricity bills were three times higher than they are today (@ 10+ cents kwh).  So I guess every one of my efforts has been worth it.  I don’t have any PV Solar Panels to produce electricity, but I will always subscribe to that dream.

‘Worth’ should be measured in more than monetary savings.  It’s about the planet and the real impact on our world EVERY SINGLE DAY.

So if you honour Earth Hour, honour the planet by taking any measures you can throughout the year. Live every day like it was Earth Day.

*http://www.renewableenergygeek.ca/images/compact-fluorescent-light-bulb.jpg

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Deb Weyrich-Cody
    Apr 05, 2012 @ 16:44:58

    Hi Linda, CFCs are wonderfully efficient: so efficient that the Canadian federal government was going to ban incandescent bulbs altogether, that is until they suddenly realised that CFCs contain mercury vapour and therefore must be disposed of as Hazardous Waste… Only problem is there aren’t enough HouseholdHazardousWaste Disposal sites to take care of them all across the country.
    So yes, fluorescent lights use much less energy to run but PLEASE be sure to dispose of them properly through your Municipal Hazardous Waste disposal program, while taking extra care not rupture those cool, curly-tailed bulbs.
    Thanks, D.

    Reply

    • grammomsblog
      Apr 05, 2012 @ 16:56:11

      Absolutely, disposal is just as important! Many local stores, like The Home Depot or Canadian Tire, have CFL disposal sites, …..I have a collections bag in the garage for them, waiting to be taken to the appropriate disposal site……
      Thanks for your input.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Off Grid and Free: My Path to the Wilderness

Practical advice for off-gridders, homesteaders, preppers. 37 years off-grid homesteading experience. Blog, videos, podcasts, book (print, ebook, audio)

Powell River Books Blog

Life, Family, Friends.....

The Radical Homemaker

Warning: Blending authenticity with joy may arouse contempt.

Mother Matters Burlington

Pregnancy, birth and postpartum support. Conscious parenting too!

B&H Your Community Grocer

Supporting Your Community Since 1963

Just another Day on the Farm

Living a step back in time

Natural Life Magazine's

green living blog by Editor Wendy Priesnitz

Vulnerable Watersheds

Life, Family, Friends.....

Pete's Alaska

Pete's Alaska — God, family, country my view out the cabin window.

Supporting Breastfeeding

La Leche League Canada

Tiny House Ontario

To fill this life, with words, art, and maintain a lovely living forest.

Cam Mather

Books • Speaking • Consulting • etc.

Wuppenif

wuppenif...in other words, "what would happen if?"

Lactation Matters

The official blog of the International Lactation Consultant Association

thekitchensgarden

farming, gardens, cows, goats, chickens, food, organic, sustainable, photography,

