Sisters

I am the luckiest person in the world!  In addition to having seven wonderful children, 4 great children-in-law, and 4 beautiful grandchildren, I have TWO amazing Sisters!   We are BFFs:  best friends forever.

My sisters, Betty and Faye, and I grew up in a pretty normal household with hard-working parents in the ’50s.  When we were young, we lived in post WWII housing along side of  many other families.  There were LOTS of kids in the neighbourhood and we were never bored with nothing to do.  Every year, our parents took us on some kind of vacation either down home to the east coast or camping or visiting a relative, often bringing along a  neighbour.   When I was 11 years old, our parents bought their first home and we moved away from our beloved neighbourhood.

During our teen years, my sisters and I kinda went our own separate ways, having our own individual friends.  I have to forever thank my sister Faye for giving me the gift of life:  never smoking.  She did this by making me take a drag off of all her friends’ cigarettes once when she had a party and I was SO sick, I NEVER, EVER wanted to smoke.  Betty was our family “rebel” during her teen years, exercising her independence often. lol.   The two of us shared a bedroom growing up,  until the day she got married.  She always said I “breathed too loud” when I slept and “kicked” me out of bed often…..lol.   But that’s okay, I knew my Sisters loved me anyway.  It was great being the youngest sister too.  When I finished my basketball practice at high school on a dark winter’s eve, I knew I could always call my sister Faye and she would hop in her cold car (in her Robe and curlers) and drive the 5 miles to the school and pick me up so I didn’t have to walk home alone in the dark.  Thanks Faye.  And because I was a few years younger than Betty and she got a job before me, I had lots of nice clothes of hers to wear to highschool….thanks Bet!

We lost our Mom suddenly when I was in my early 20’s and we were devastated.  Betty and I were married at the time, but Faye still lived  at home.  We were crippled by our loss for many, many months afterwards.  BUT we always knew we had each other.  No matter what.  And nothing and nobody would ever come between us.  It was like an unspoken pact we made with each other which has held the test of time to this day.

WinterludeOver the years, we’ve taken alot of vacations together with our families and have had the BEST time!   We’ve gone down home to New Carlisle on the Gaspe, with most of our children and stayed in a couple of cramped chalets on the beach.  We had a great time taking walks along the ocean  looking for “beach glass”  or visiting our Grandmother, Aunts, and Uncles or having an amazing feast at my cousin Maureen’s …… My Sisters and I haven’t lived in the same city since 1972 .  Presently, Faye lives 4 1/2 hours away from me and Betty lives across the country on Vancouver Island.  Faye and I will go out to B.C. to visit Betty or Bet will come east to visit us in Ontario nearly every year.  When we  get together, we all talk a mile-a-minute at the same time AND can actually understand what each other is saying!!  My kids laugh!   Faye and I see each other more often since we live closer.  Several times a year, Faye takes the train to visit me while I’ll often catch a ride to her place with my daughter Kristi when she has business meetings in Toronto.

In recent years, we’ve been able to have “Sister-time”  in beautiful British Columbia, exploring beaches, mountains, and trails, many times with our children who live nearby.  My two Sisters actually tried surfing in Tofino a few years ago!

It’s funny…..the older we get, the more we seem to have in common.  When we were growing up, my sisters didn’t want me (the little sister) hanging around, but now we can’t get enough of each other!  We are truly best friends.  We know that we have each other’s backs and will always be there for each other in times of need.  We talk on the telephone at least weekly and now can Skype each other, bringing our worlds a little bit closer.

Sisters in Vancouver

 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Betty
    Mar 26, 2012 @ 10:26:44

    I LOVE THIS!!!… But it was ME who made you puff on that cigarette!!… I remember it like it was yesterday!!… We were in the basement of our house on Upper Wellington and I gave you precise instructions on how to inhale that smoke… I also remember how sick you got… and I have always been grateful that I did this too you!!… (Faye was too nice to have done that to you!!..haha)..

    But everything else is sooo… true… I feel so very lucky to have you and Faye as my sister… Can’t wait to see you guys this summer!!…

    Our beloved mother would be happy that we are so close… I miss her…

    Love Bet..xoxo

    Reply

  2. Betty
    Mar 26, 2012 @ 10:28:19

    P.S. I think we all look younger now than we did 10 years ago!!…LOL…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Where Meeples Meet

Games you'll want to play

Wilderness Return

My Wilderness Return Return to Nature, bushcraft, scrounge craft, writing

Off Grid and Free: My Path to the Wilderness

Practical advice for off-gridders, homesteaders, preppers. 37 years off-grid homesteading experience. Blog, videos, podcasts, book (print, ebook, audio)

Powell River Books Blog

Life, Family, Friends.....

The Radical Homemaker

Warning: Blending authenticity with joy may arouse contempt.

Mother Matters Burlington

Pregnancy, birth and postpartum support. Conscious parenting too!

B&H Your Community Grocer

Supporting Your Community Since 1963

Just another Day on the Farm

Living a step back in time

Natural Life Magazine's

green living blog by Editor Wendy Priesnitz

Vulnerable Watersheds

Life, Family, Friends.....

Pete's Alaska

Pete's Alaska — God, family, country my view out the cabin window.

Tiny House Ontario

To fill this life, with words, art, and maintain a lovely living forest.

Cam Mather

Books • Speaking • Consulting • etc.

Wuppenif

wuppenif...in other words, "what would happen if?"

Lactation Matters

The official blog of the International Lactation Consultant Association

