I Love Books, Books, and more Books!

Today I decided to ‘organize’ the bookshelves downstairs instead of going outside to trim my apple trees.  I’ve collected books for over 50 years, so I had my work cut out for me!   I had a great time reminiscing as I made my way through some of the shelves of my eight bookcases. ( I guess one doesn’t count as it’s full of movies and DVDs).  We have everything from Harry Potter  to Molecular Biology!  I found SO many treasures too!!  I came across a whole bunch of promotional 9×11″  team pictures of 1934 NHL teams too, safely tucked away inside a book.  I still have all the books I read to my children when they were young.  I found one called Wings of Wonder which had such poems like Forgiven by A.A. Milne that was my son Taylor’s favourite :  “I had a little beetle, so that Beetle was his name, And I called him Alexander and he answered just the same……”  I even photocopied that page and had it professionally mounted for him for Christmas one year.  Another short story from that popular book was The Legend of Sleepy Hollow which I read in a creepy, old voice to the kids near Halloween:  “Ichabod Crane was  (said high-pitched) a schoolmaster…..”.  There were old Berenstain Bears books, Goosebumps books, and many childhood favourites.

My Bookshelves

Several shelves held my ‘library’ for my midwifery clients:  I’d loan out books for parents to read on topics about childbirth and parenting.  Then I discovered a pile of professional journals mixed in with years and years worth of old magazines like Organic Gardening and Farming from the ’60s,’70s, and ’80s,  Harrowsmith from the ’80s and ’90s, Mothering Magazine and The Compleat Mother from the 1980’s+ .  Man, I never throw anything out!  I started to feel like one of those hoarders from TV, but quickly dismissed that notion since I was organized!  And I figure that these magazines hold their information value without getting old so they are worth saving.  I noticed that in my ‘back-to-the-land’ section, there were several gaps from missing books, which I assume my grown children have borrowed.  Some of the best books ever include The Ruth Stout No-Work Garden Book and Living the Good Life by Helen and Scott Nearing as well as any of my books by Bradford Angier.  And I’m discovering awesome new books all the time like Cam Mather’s All You Can Eat Gardening Handbook :

http://aztextpress.wordpress.com/available-books-and-dvds/

I also came across a collection of my childhood encyclopedias and a 5″ thick dictionary that are over 50 years old, purchased with “Lucky Green Stamps” from Loblaws in the 1950s.  And the entire set of Nancy Drew books that my sister Betty and I collected when we were teens!  I found a few yearbooks from my own high school years and several of my childrens.  There were all the little Pocket Guidebooks for everything from Rocks and Minerals to Fish to Stars, every one well used and worn.  And large, thick University textbooks, a half dozen dictionaries and thesauruses, and classics like The Complete Works of Shakespeare.  Some shelves with smaller paperback books were 2 books deep!  Then there was a shelf with all the manuals from every item (that came with a manual) that we had ever purchased!  I really have to go through THAT collection and discard some of those obsolete manuals…  I found photos that my children took long ago, tucked in amongst the books and even my original sketchbook from 1968!

I actually didn’t get very far in my ‘organizing’ because I began to leaf through the pages of many long forgotten books, remembering and laughing out-loud for several hours.  I love books:  the feel of the pages in my fingers, their ‘musty-inky’ smell, the sound of turning pages, and the look of print.  I prefer reading an actual book to online reading anytime, hands down.   I have one very special shelf called my “Retirement” shelf:  it’s full of books that I’m collecting to leisurely read when I ‘retire’.  But after seeing all those great books today, I’m going to start to re-read my favourites all over again!

Two of my favourite books

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Betty
    Feb 17, 2012 @ 20:16:16

    Excuse me sista… but I’d like to add that the collection of Nancy Drew books was MY collection!!!… LOL….Remember – when I so generously donated them to you so Kristi could read them – (and I know you snuck in a couple of reads yourself!!) This series just HAD to be passed on!!… You did, I’ll admit – add to the collection over the years!!!… and thankfully you coveted these treasures and now our grandchildren will have a chance to read them too!!!

    Bless you for taking care of all of your books the way you have… I still – to this day – LOVE to read an N. Drew book when I come to your place!!… It reminds me of our wonderful childhood…We sure were lucky that our parents bought these books for us!!!…

    … and I STILL look for them at garage sales too!!

    Love you…xo

    Reply

  2. Jacklyn Szabo
    Feb 17, 2012 @ 23:38:33

    Aunt betttyyyyyy! I loved reading your comment but now i miss you! Andrei and i have to visit! We can drive to ottawa! B.c is beautiful though. Arent her blogs the best reads!

    Reply

  3. Rod
    Feb 18, 2012 @ 01:19:46

    I know I say it every time but I just love reading your blogs cousin! 😉

    Reply

  4. Robin (@rmellway)
    Feb 18, 2012 @ 12:15:20

    Do you have any room on those shelves? I have a bunch of books that may want to come home to join their friends sometime later this year…

    Reply

  5. Trackback: Book Fair! « Grammomsblog

Leave a Reply

Off Grid and Free: My Path to the Wilderness

Practical advice for off-gridders, homesteaders, preppers. 37 years off-grid homesteading experience. Blog, videos, podcasts, book (print, ebook, audio)

Powell River Books Blog

Life, Family, Friends.....

The Radical Homemaker

Warning: Blending authenticity with joy may arouse contempt.

Mother Matters Burlington

Pregnancy, birth and postpartum support. Conscious parenting too!

B&H Your Community Grocer

Supporting Your Community Since 1963

Just another Day on the Farm

Living a step back in time

Natural Life Magazine's

green living blog by Editor Wendy Priesnitz

Vulnerable Watersheds

Life, Family, Friends.....

Pete's Alaska

Pete's Alaska — God, family, country my view out the cabin window.

Supporting Breastfeeding

La Leche League Canada

Tiny House Ontario

To fill this life, with words, art, and maintain a lovely living forest.

Cam Mather

Books • Speaking • Consulting • etc.

Wuppenif

wuppenif...in other words, "what would happen if?"

Lactation Matters

The official blog of the International Lactation Consultant Association

thekitchensgarden

farming, gardens, cows, goats, chickens, food, organic, sustainable, photography,

