DIY Granny

Today I was busy with another “Project” around the house- Melvin was complaining that his room was really cold (and he’s usually a ‘furnace’) so I knew I couldn’t put off exploring insulating any longer:

Most people would just “call” someone, explain the problem, and get it fixed. But I’ve always been kind of a “Do-It-Yourselfer”……..just because I’m a Gramma, THAT shouldn’t stop me, right? SO…..I started carefully taking down his suspended ceiling tiles (made from those paper-like 12″x12″s) that were stapled to the homemade wood braces, along the exterior wall where I figured the cold was somehow seeping in. Luckily I had already moved everything on the floor away from my work area…..what a mess! I even had to chop out some drywall that was extended up above the ceiling and then cut out some 1″ white beaded styrofoam that the drywall was glued to…..just to get to the header where the foundation meets the wood structure of the house. Whew! I could DEFINITELY feel a cold draft as I was working away, so I knew I was on the right track. I filled the cavity with pieces of Roxul insulation along the south wall without slashing myself with the exacto knife.

DIY has it’s perks….I know exactly how it’s done (for good or bad), I can take my time, and it fits in my budget. DIY also has it’s disadvantages, I guess: like the mouse poo that falls out of the ceiling into my hair when I took the ceiling tiles down; climbing up and down a ladder with my arthritic knee; not able to fully extend my arm due to my shoulder injury; lacking the full strength to pull out staples and nails….I could go on and on. Oh yes, I know what you’re thinking – Dar would say ” why didn’t you just ask me….” -and I appreciate ALL the things he does for me already . Melvin too, but it’s just easier to do it in the daytime when I’ve got enough energy! Well I’m almost done -I finally found the staple gun out in the mudroom (to put the ceiling tiles back up) but still can’t find the staples, so I guess I’ll have to pick some up next time I’m in town @ Canadian Tire. I’m sure Melvin won’t mind looking at a construction site as he falls blissfully to sleep……

Now I wonder if his west wall header is insulated…………

P.S. I want to apologize to all my children who occupied that room and were too cold. Better late than never.

Melvin "helping" Daddy 1996

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Betty
    Dec 08, 2011 @ 21:57:23

    Awesome!!… That’s my sista for ya!!!… Little ole “Mike Holmes” herself… One can do anything if they put their mind to it… and sometimes we have no other choice… and yes… we had good teachers… with both our mother and father teaching us to be independent individuals… How lucky we are to have had them in our life for the short time that we did… Appreciate your parents everyone… they are precious….

    Reply

  2. Marty
    Dec 08, 2011 @ 23:04:50

    no wonder I developed an allergy to cold!

    Reply

  3. ceciliag
    Dec 09, 2011 @ 20:00:56

    wow, you really are versatile.. my bedroom is cold! but I sleep better when it is a bit chilly ..I won’t get you to come over and take it all apart.. what great work.. c

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Off Grid and Free: My Path to the Wilderness

Practical advice for off-gridders, homesteaders, preppers. 37 years off-grid homesteading experience. Blog, videos, podcasts, book (print, ebook, audio)

Powell River Books Blog

Life, Family, Friends.....

The Radical Homemaker

Warning: Blending authenticity with joy may arouse contempt.

Mother Matters Burlington

Pregnancy, birth and postpartum support. Conscious parenting too!

B&H Your Community Grocer

Supporting Your Community Since 1963

Just another Day on the Farm

Living a step back in time

Natural Life Magazine's

green living blog by Editor Wendy Priesnitz

Vulnerable Watersheds

Life, Family, Friends.....

Pete's Alaska

Pete's Alaska — God, family, country my view out the cabin window.

Supporting Breastfeeding

La Leche League Canada

Tiny House Ontario

To fill this life, with words, art, and maintain a lovely living forest.

Cam Mather

Books • Speaking • Consulting • etc.

Wuppenif

wuppenif...in other words, "what would happen if?"

Lactation Matters

The official blog of the International Lactation Consultant Association

thekitchensgarden

farming, gardens, cows, goats, chickens, food, organic, sustainable, photography,

